SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 13, 2007, 01:29 PM
Registered User
epwierman's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2004
3,088 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dbox
O ,yea its shines all right
Reflective tape takes care of visability for me
Yuri.
Very nice! bling bling baby!!!
epwierman is offline Find More Posts by epwierman
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 13, 2007, 01:38 PM
K4UAV
dalbert02's Avatar
Miami, FL
Joined Jul 2003
1,749 Posts
What does the Absolute cost? I think I would prefer the Kamelot, but this is running a close second! Thanks,
-dave
dalbert02 is offline Find More Posts by dalbert02
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 01:58 PM
Registered User
utcadman's Avatar
USA, UT, Park City
Joined Jul 2006
970 Posts
around 400 thru Bob at SUSA
utcadman is offline Find More Posts by utcadman
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 05:10 PM
Yes..ok..maybe..lol.....
Tucson Avra Valley, Arizona, United States
Joined Jul 2004
5,724 Posts
Hey Eric,I have a NIB Absolute,Carbon Fiber version...I don't need the outrageous set ups that you guys have.Would a Neu 1509/1.5D/6.7,4s4900,and a 14.5x14 prop give me reasonable performance? From the Motor calculator:
146 amps
112mph pitch speed
302 oz of thrust with a motor rpm of 57,000.
1900 watts in
Could I hand launch this or should I bungee launch this off our club PVC pedal launcher? Could I get by using a CC125?
Thanks,
-Dave
shhhhh! is offline Find More Posts by shhhhh!
Last edited by shhhhh!; Jul 13, 2007 at 05:17 PM. Reason: ....
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 05:17 PM
dessertracer's Avatar
Joined May 2006
849 Posts
Why not get outrageous and use a 5s 4900?
dessertracer is offline Find More Posts by dessertracer
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 05:36 PM
Yes..ok..maybe..lol.....
Tucson Avra Valley, Arizona, United States
Joined Jul 2004
5,724 Posts
Ok..5s...204 amps
3200 watts
motor rpm:67,500
prop pitch speed: 133mph
Full throttle duration: 1:26
Can the motor handle that kind of rpm? Looks like a great set up!! Is it??
shhhhh! is offline Find More Posts by shhhhh!
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 06:10 PM
Ain't Dutch? Ain't Mutch!
Kimble_Schmitz's Avatar
Southampton, UK
Joined Oct 2001
3,384 Posts
I will be running that exact 4S setup when i get my Neu pack in. Nothing wrong with it as a starting point. It is a light setup and well safe on all the components.

For servos i've got Hitec HS-85BBMG's in the wings and also the tail. Yes it does fit in the fin, just make the servo arm really short! Cheap servo and much better then the thinner 81 version, those tend to get sloppy and break gears.

If i where to start over, i would not cheap out on this beautifull plane and i would go 13mm thick metal gear digitals in the wings and a 11mm in the tail. Either JR DS368 and Futaba S3150 or Volts Micromaxx and Wingmaxx.

This plane is for life!!!

But i must admit, a special paint Kamelot with just ailerons is starting to appeal to me......

Joe
Kimble_Schmitz is offline Find More Posts by Kimble_Schmitz
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 06:58 PM
Why you swing so hard?
jsnaphook's Avatar
Lake Tahoe
Joined Jun 2006
1,272 Posts
Eric, see what I mean? A lot of guys here are pro Absolute, but then again, the Kamelot would be nice. Aaargh! Don't you like having these kinds of choices to make? I'm still clinging to the Absolute. I should stop reading these threads...

@shhhh, Dave, you are posting a build thread right??? I followed your Jibe build. Great job. But don't hold off on this one...please. An Absolute, NIB, man you got some will power...


Juan
jsnaphook is offline Find More Posts by jsnaphook
Last edited by jsnaphook; Jul 13, 2007 at 07:16 PM. Reason: added to message
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 07:14 PM
One Idiot is plenty...
Dbox's Avatar
Planet Earth
Joined Jun 2005
5,155 Posts
What do you guys think. Is it too much ?
Have to protect servo pushrods/based on experience/on landings
I think ,its kinda "heavy",but dont have anythig else.
Yuri.
Dbox is offline Find More Posts by Dbox
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 07:35 PM
Registered User
utcadman's Avatar
USA, UT, Park City
Joined Jul 2006
970 Posts
Too Much?


With 3kw nothing is too much.

Even if it was it looks WAY cool....
utcadman is offline Find More Posts by utcadman
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2007, 10:47 PM
Yes..ok..maybe..lol.....
Tucson Avra Valley, Arizona, United States
Joined Jul 2004
5,724 Posts
Jsnaphook:It's not so much a matter of will power,but a lack of funds!!
I sat on that Jibe for over 6 months before I finally built it.
I bought that Absolute when Lipo's were still questionable? Now that
the power systems and batteries have improved I may go for it.

I actually have two Absolutes!!!! One of my all time favoritehotliners!
Kimble: Thanks for the post...ok it looks like I am going in the right direction.
-Dave
shhhhh! is offline Find More Posts by shhhhh!
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2007, 03:40 AM
Ain't Dutch? Ain't Mutch!
Kimble_Schmitz's Avatar
Southampton, UK
Joined Oct 2001
3,384 Posts
Dave, you can always go 5S on it later or even simpler add a 16'' prop to the 4S pack. That is what i am going to be doing. This setup is ment to be a perfect match of power and easy of use. So a light hand toss still has to get it flying!!!

Then when i have the cash i will try and fit a VHV (very high voltage) setup in it just for fun. But like Eric, i don't think it will stay in there for the duration.

Joe
Kimble_Schmitz is offline Find More Posts by Kimble_Schmitz
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2007, 03:41 AM
One Idiot is plenty...
Dbox's Avatar
Planet Earth
Joined Jun 2005
5,155 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by utcadman
Too Much?


With 3kw nothing is too much.

Even if it was it looks WAY cool....
Well,O.K.then I might will go for it.But not for a 3Kw on this one.
I dont "feel" this plane as a super heavy. Its so lite empty,it makes me feel actually guilty to owerload it.Does this one need 3Kw to go fast vertical?
It may need some weight for energy retention after all,but I think it needs also
to be light enough for shorter landings.
My first Tiger was about 64 oz after bunch of carbon repairs.
And second came to 50oz AWU.
On same motor /prop second had faster climb rate-reason lighter weight
but also better penetration and energy retention,reason-unknown
Buttom line -it flew much better in lighter version
Yuri.
Dbox is offline Find More Posts by Dbox
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2007, 11:38 AM
Yes..ok..maybe..lol.....
Tucson Avra Valley, Arizona, United States
Joined Jul 2004
5,724 Posts
Kimble: I was just playing around with the motors on the Motor Calculator and that 1509/1.5D/6.7,14.5 x14 on 4s seemed like a great choice.But.....does anyone have any real world experience with that set up?? Also,what ESC are you going to use?Seems like the CC125 would work well for the 4s set up. This is definitely going to be a big time step up in power and cost so I just want to make sure I get it right.I would like the launch to be easy so as to avoid the dreaded torque roll!
shhhhh! is offline Find More Posts by shhhhh!
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2007, 12:11 PM
Registered User
utcadman's Avatar
USA, UT, Park City
Joined Jul 2006
970 Posts
I have used that setup on several planes. I kinda look at it as the anywhere-everywhere setup.


I use 15x13 and 17x10. This will begin to get you into the realm of where some of these planes are being flown.

I think it is perfect and I will be using it on my Absolute.
utcadman is offline Find More Posts by utcadman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools