HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 06, 2002, 10:21 AM
UK
Joined May 2002
16 Posts
Turbo Fan

Just for interest I have posted a thread on the 'Aircraft Jets' forum of our latest development in gas turbine model aero engine. Seeing that you guy's seem interested in EDF, and fan design. My father a I have been working on our gas turbine equivilent for several years now, and have finally come up with a high bypass turbo fan, from our development of or turbo shaft gas turbine engines. A few stats for you interest.

Fan Diameter 180mm
Flow rate accros fan 100 m/s
Thrust 'static' 13 Kg (27 lbs)
Bypass Ratio 8:1
Core Mass Flow 0.18 Kg/s
Fan Mass Flow 1.6 Kg/s

The engine is still in development, were a focus of rotor dynamics is at our attention, dealing with the concrentric shaft which drives the fan from the free turbine wheel. The concentric shaft is a new development in small gas turbines were small diameters are required. In a result the fan drive shaft runs super critical, were its critical speed is around 18000rpm, getting through critical is the problem, but once through smooth running is achievable.
The gas generator section of the engine 'compressor combuster, and turbine' has a shaft speed of 160,000rpm, were the core engine is based on the excellent 'Wren MW54'. The Fan design speed max is 16000rpm, were 14000rpm is our constant speed limit. the fan is driven from the free turbine, were it drives a planatary gearbox in the hub of the fan, with a gear ratio od 3.76:1.

The engine has run 5 times now, were the last run with the latest shaft configuration was good, were just over half power was applied. We are slowly gaining confidence in running the engine, but it is nervouse buisness as things can go wrong, and a propper safty enclosure may be required.
Guybo is offline Find More Posts by Guybo
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 06, 2002, 11:55 AM
Newport, WA US
Joined Aug 2000
243 Posts
WOW!! I have always thought that a turbo fan would be neat!