Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jun 28, 2007, 04:49 AM
Arkansas
Joined May 2007
203 Posts
Discussion
Newbie - 1980's Sig Colt Trainer Build

Hey guys, I'm new to the plane scene so I thought I'd get started with my own thread to learn a little. I've been into electric helis for the past year or so, and have gotten pretty good with them, and now I want to get into nitro planes. My dad started a Sig Colt Trainer kit like 30 years ago but never finished it. Well with my new interest in RC I wanted to get it finished so I could have a plane to fly, so here we are. I can fly the NexStar pretty well in Realflight G3.5, and have some guys at the local field that should be able to get me going on learning to fly. I've already started reading through plane threads that catch my eye to begin the learning process, and have found some good noobie info already. Other than that, you might share your advice, tips, important info, servo advice, engine advice, that kind of stuff. I've also included some pics for you to comment on. Thanks!
~Trumpetrhapsody
TrumpetRhapsody is offline Find More Posts by TrumpetRhapsody
Last edited by TrumpetRhapsody; Jun 28, 2007 at 04:57 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 28, 2007, 09:42 AM
Joined Dec 2006
462 Posts
Wow! Long long time to see one of those.

Way back in '75 I started out with a Sig Klipper, which was the sister ship to the Colt. There was one other in that series....can't think of it at the moment. It flew ok, but the move up to a 4 channel trainer in the Goldberg Falcon 56 was a quantum leap vs. the little Klipper.

Things I'd do to your Colt in finishing it out--

ABSOLUTELY use at least 2 and better yet 3 pieces of strapping tape--the kind with the fibers in it--- side by side on the bottom of the wing near the center, one continuous piece from wing tip to wing tip. This will strengthen the foam wing SIGNIFICANTLY!