Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Nov 04, 2002, 10:53 AM
S55
Beaverton, OR, USA
Joined Feb 2001
772 Posts
Real facts about the LRK (outrunner motor)

Here are my comments.
I am an electrical engineer, but my expertise in electrical motors is very limited. One of the few things I remember from the electric motors course will be mentioned later. I tried nevertheless to understand what makes the LRK so torquey and this was pretty easy and unexpected. The same old principles apply and the huge torque difference comes from two simple sources.
1. The induction in the LRK is assumed to be 1T as opposed to 0.8T in the classic motor. This 1/0.8=1.25 factor comes into play twice and this makes for a 1.56 magnifying factor.
2. The diameter of the LRK is 35 mm versus 18 mm for the classic motor. So we have here a 35/20=1.94 factor. This also is taken into account twice and therefore we get a 3.78 factor.
Now combine the two and here is the magic number:
1.56x3.78=5.89 higher torque for the LRK

This comparison is not fair. If the same magnets are used and if size is the same, then there is no advantage to the LRK-outrunner motor.

What is interesting about the LRK is the slippage between the rotating magnet and the rotating field. This makes it show up like a gearing effect that comes for free and is within the motor. Now I might not have a good grasp of these things, but I feel the slippage is not the most desirable thing. What I remember from school is that whenever high power and high efficiency is needed, the 3-phase synchronous motor is the one and only choice. One drawback is that these motors need other means (motors) to be started and brought to the synchronism speed and then they can run on their own. The motors used in RC do not need to deliver hundreds of kilowatts, but the same principles should apply. And electronics can easily make them run at synchronism at any speed and load.