Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jun 06, 2007, 07:23 AM
Certified Riteaholic
San Marcos, CA.
Joined Oct 2003
649 Posts
Discussion
Ritewing TL 60 Ordered! (Question Inside)

Well, my family of Ritewings is about to grow again! I just ordered a TL 60 from CK. One of these days, I'm going to stop SLACKING and start building the Rite way. I have a Demon 45, and a TL 50. I just can't seem to get enough of them!

Question: When you did your first build, did it come out as well as you would have hoped for? My "building experience" is limited to taping Zagi's together. If you want to call that building.

I really want to get started on a build of my own. I'm a perfectionist. I'm also an automotive technician, so working with my hands is nothing new. I just need a couple of you to kick me in the rear a little bit.
joekoz is offline Find More Posts by joekoz
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 06, 2007, 08:29 PM
Livermore, CA
Joined Jan 2007
919 Posts
Hi Joe,

my first build was a TL50 and I did have some surprises. I thought I was good at a 49oz build but got a surprise at balance time and had to add 8oz of weight in the nose. I'm not too concerned due to the natural wing loading of 12oz/sq ft at 3lb, but I was disappointed. I talked to CK and we figured that it was my two layers of henry's and the glue much of which was behind the CG that caused it. Now I have a TL60 on the board and I'm at the layout stage, so just starting. This time I'll mark the expected CG top and bottom prior to glassing to help. The other item is the pushrod exit angle which was rather blind on the first build; now that I have a reference it will be easier to set on the new build. everything else was pretty clean. I even cut the airscoops in late but it worked out ok as I was able to make the air channel miss the servo lead.

tim
twilkers is offline Find More Posts by twilkers
Old Jun 06, 2007, 09:30 PM
Fly me to the moon...
Sacramento
Joined Jun 2005
4,140 Posts