HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by StarmanDXE, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old May 30, 2007, 11:24 AM
Advanced Learner
StarmanDXE's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Dec 2006
2,742 Posts
Trader Rating: 39
Wanted
Wanted - Trainer switch for Futaba Tx

Hey all,

I'm picking up a Tx that has one of the long 2-way switches broken. I plan to replace it on my own, as it doesn't look like too bad of a job.

Tower Hobbies sells the switch I need, but I figured I'd ask around here, first, to see if anyone can help me out

BTW, if you happen have a 9C that is only good for parts and has the necessary switch-pair PCB and all intact, that would be awesome!

Thanks for any/all help!

Edit: Getting a switch thanks to EloyM, but I just found out that the trainer switch is broken, too. Please see last post.
StarmanDXE is online now Find More Posts by StarmanDXE
Last edited by StarmanDXE; Jun 06, 2007 at 02:08 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 30, 2007, 01:11 PM
Inciting Riots
village_idiot's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
9,687 Posts
Trader Rating: 28
I thought I might have had something that would work, but it turns out it will not fit through the holes in the PCB. Unscrew the switches retainer nuts on the front side and it looks like the switch assembly will drop right out.

Hopefully it is switch F because that one would be MUCH easier to get out, switch B will take a little more effort.
village_idiot is offline Find More Posts by village_idiot
Old May 30, 2007, 01:17 PM
Advanced Learner
StarmanDXE's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Dec 2006
2,742 Posts
Trader Rating: 39
Yeah, it's switch B... Figured it'd be a little bit tougher
StarmanDXE is online now Find More Posts by StarmanDXE
Old May 30, 2007, 04:34 PM
Advanced Learner
StarmanDXE's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Dec 2006
2,742 Posts
Trader Rating: 39
Bump?
StarmanDXE is online now Find More Posts by StarmanDXE
Old May 30, 2007, 08:58 PM
Advanced Learner
StarmanDXE's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Dec 2006
2,742 Posts
Trader Rating: 39
Night bump...
StarmanDXE is online now Find More Posts by StarmanDXE
Old Jun 01, 2007, 03:53 PM
Registered User
EloyM's Avatar
SantaAna CA
Joined Aug 2003
311 Posts
Trader Rating: 57
I have a long handle switch from a Futaba Tx! Not mounted on the PC, just the switch itself. I am not sure they are all the same, so you might confirm. Most switches have the solder lugs centered on the base, some of them used by F have them all on one side and must be replaced with the exact type. They are unique in that respect - they are also unique in that they cost 10 yen in Japan and have hollow handles which is why they break just from a hard look. If you can use this, direct: eloym@dslextreme.com.
EloyM is offline Find More Posts by EloyM
Old Jun 01, 2007, 04:02 PM
Inciting Riots
village_idiot's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
9,687 Posts
Trader Rating: 28
The one he needs has the pins on the bottom (away from the handle) and is indeed what is shown in the picture from tower. So if your switch looks like the one in the link above, that's what he needs.

Well unless there is a huge change between the 9CHP and 9CHP super. I already looked inside my 9CHP to see what I thought. The radio that he bought was the 9CHPS, so hopefully they are the same switch.

If it really comes down to not being able to get one (for whatever reason) I can modify the switch from an old FG to be a PC mount switch, but it is the least attractive option in my mind.
village_idiot is offline Find More Posts by village_idiot
Old Jun 01, 2007, 04:37 PM
Advanced Learner
StarmanDXE's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Dec 2006
2,742 Posts
Trader Rating: 39
I think what he's trying to say is that if you look at the switch on the bottom, those 3 pins that come out of it would either be centered or shifted off to one side. Any chance you can check your Tx innards if you can tell whether the pins are centered or not?

EDIT: BTW, thanks, EloyM
StarmanDXE is online now Find More Posts by StarmanDXE
Last edited by StarmanDXE; Jun 01, 2007 at 04:49 PM.
Old Jun 02, 2007, 12:47 AM
Registered User
EloyM's Avatar
SantaAna CA
Joined Aug 2003
311 Posts
Trader Rating: 57
Futaba Switches

Starman DXE has it right, I was referring to the pins on the base of the switch. I am not familiar with the current F radios, but most of the older ones had switches with off-center pins. If a more normal one with centered pins is installed on the pc board, the toggle (threaded) end will not line up with the holes in the case.
All other brands, at least those that I have worked on, have normal type switches for which replacements are readily available.
EloyM is offline Find More Posts by EloyM
Old Jun 02, 2007, 02:13 PM
Advanced Learner
StarmanDXE's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Dec 2006
2,742 Posts
Trader Rating: 39
Found another image of the switch I'm looking for on this site. Looks like the pins are off-center.

StarmanDXE is online now Find More Posts by StarmanDXE
Old Jun 02, 2007, 06:00 PM
Registered User
EloyM's Avatar
SantaAna CA
Joined Aug 2003
311 Posts
Trader Rating: 57
Switch

Starman, send me your mailing address. Eloy
EloyM is offline Find More Posts by EloyM
Old Jun 02, 2007, 07:56 PM
Advanced Learner
StarmanDXE's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Dec 2006
2,742 Posts
Trader Rating: 39
PM sent.

Thanks!
StarmanDXE is online now Find More Posts by StarmanDXE
Old Jun 06, 2007, 02:04 PM
Advanced Learner
StarmanDXE's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Dec 2006
2,742 Posts
Trader Rating: 39
Well, I'm getting that switch, thanks to EloyM, but I just found out that the trainer switch is broken to

So, I'm looking for one like this one at Tower Hobbies. Anyone got one?



Thanks!
StarmanDXE is online now Find More Posts by StarmanDXE
Old Jun 06, 2007, 02:22 PM
Inciting Riots
village_idiot's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
9,687 Posts
Trader Rating: 28
Do you really need the trainer switch?
village_idiot is offline Find More Posts by village_idiot
Old Jun 06, 2007, 02:34 PM
Advanced Learner
StarmanDXE's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Dec 2006
2,742 Posts
Trader Rating: 39
Of course I don't need it... Just would like to have all the switches working!
StarmanDXE is online now Find More Posts by StarmanDXE
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question How to use a switch on Futaba tx to set up-trim for takeoff? Danny Troy Radios 8 Jun 16, 2007 10:35 PM
Need part for Futaba Tx - Trainer plug. skid2964 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Dec 30, 2004 02:47 PM
Trainer cord for Futaba and Hitec Caveman Radios 2 Apr 29, 2003 07:55 AM
DIN plug for a Futaba Tx RichD Electric Plane Talk 7 Sep 06, 2001 10:00 PM
Make your own DIN plug for Futaba TX! pullin-gs Electric Plane Talk 0 Sep 06, 2001 08:05 PM