HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 17, 2007, 01:37 AM
qdv
Registered User
Joined May 2007
34 Posts
Discussion
mamba max software won't let me click anything

just ordered the $150 7700 and installed it. The castlelink software won't let me click on any setting, it will just make "bing" sound everytime I click. the connection status is green and the driver is installed correctly. Anyone have this problem?
qdv is offline Find More Posts by qdv
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 17, 2007, 01:44 AM
Registered User
USA, WV, Moundsville
Joined Oct 2006
2,778 Posts
what operating system are you running it on?
turbored21 is offline Find More Posts by turbored21
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2007, 03:19 AM
qdv
Registered User
Joined May 2007
34 Posts
using XP media center, tried upgrade the program and still won't work

edit: nevermind problem solved. I installed .Net 1.1
but it seem to have cogging issue is it true the better batteries willl cog less?
I have the 3800 6 cells.

this mamba so crazy, I was doing full speed like the titan 12v motor with only like 1/4 throttle compare to squeezing the triggle all the way.
qdv is offline Find More Posts by qdv
Last edited by qdv; May 17, 2007 at 10:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2007, 11:37 AM
Registered User
mtfly2000's Avatar
washington
Joined Dec 2006
1,620 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by qdv
using XP media center, tried upgrade the program and still won't work

edit: nevermind problem solved. I installed .Net 1.1
but it seem to have cogging issue is it true the better batteries willl cog less?
I have the 3800 6 cells.

this mamba so crazy, I was doing full speed like the titan 12v motor with only like 1/4 throttle compare to squeezing the triggle all the way.
Better batteries do cog less, no cogging if you have good lipo or a123 batteries. The 7700 motor draws a lot more amps from the battery than the other motors. You might try gearing it down, it'll be easier on your pack, longer run-time, and less cogging. Save up money to repair your tranny, 'cause more than likely you'll soon break something (idler gear) in it, and you'll need to buy the "upgrade" part.
mtfly2000 is offline Find More Posts by mtfly2000
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2007, 03:03 PM
qdv
Registered User
Joined May 2007
34 Posts
how did you setup your throttle curve and break curve does it help reduce the motor and esc temp somehow?

mine is a linear line should I curve it?
qdv is offline Find More Posts by qdv
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2007, 05:07 PM
Registered User
mtfly2000's Avatar
washington
Joined Dec 2006
1,620 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by qdv
how did you setup your throttle curve and break curve does it help reduce the motor and esc temp somehow?

mine is a linear line should I curve it?
The curve is pretty much for how the controller reacts to the trigger input. Mine stays linear too. The timing will mess with performance and temp issues though.
mtfly2000 is offline Find More Posts by mtfly2000
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2007, 06:50 PM
qdv
Registered User
Joined May 2007
34 Posts
thanks I"m getting use to the little cogging aldready, I changed it back to linear and planning to pick up a different pinion tomorow and try out some combination, to get the temp down.
qdv is offline Find More Posts by qdv
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2007, 10:26 PM
Registered User
mtfly2000's Avatar
washington
Joined Dec 2006
1,620 Posts
turning the timing down will help with your temp issues for the time being.
mtfly2000 is offline Find More Posts by mtfly2000
Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2007, 03:39 AM
qdv
Registered User
Joined May 2007
34 Posts
k thanks
for the gearing, if I run 12/90 will it run cooler than the gear 15/90? I saw a lot of online videos with mm 7700 and most run 15/90. If 12/90 indeed run cooler then I won't need to change any further.
qdv is offline Find More Posts by qdv
Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2007, 10:37 AM
Registered User
mtfly2000's Avatar
washington
Joined Dec 2006
1,620 Posts
yeah it should. it'll also let you play longer, as well as remove that studder. the best gearing to have is when you're as fast as you can go or want to go at full-throttle, and you actually get it up to full throttle quite a bit. So if you don't have room to get up to full throttle, gear it down - it's healthier.
mtfly2000 is offline Find More Posts by mtfly2000
Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2007, 08:29 PM
qdv
Registered User
Joined May 2007
34 Posts
some pics of my rustler, finally done with all the modification and gearing changing.

http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/8386/1000960iz3.jpg
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/4500/1000961yf8.jpg
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/3307/1000962qj4.jpg
http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/8986/1000963bn3.jpg
qdv is offline Find More Posts by qdv
Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2007, 04:26 PM
Registered User
mtfly2000's Avatar
washington
Joined Dec 2006
1,620 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by qdv
some pics of my rustler, finally done with all the modification and gearing changing.
Cool! check mine out. I returned my old rustler to as stock as I can (need the aluminum idler gear and MIP CVD's still to go with the Novak Brushless) and bought all new parts from www.RCBros.com and Tower to make an Aluminum Rustler for my Mamba Max system.
mtfly2000 is offline Find More Posts by mtfly2000
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2007, 12:31 AM
qdv
Registered User
Joined May 2007
34 Posts
wow that is so sweeet, I reeally like the aluminum chasis there. Where did you get that??
qdv is offline Find More Posts by qdv
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2007, 02:24 AM
Registered User
mtfly2000's Avatar
washington
Joined Dec 2006
1,620 Posts
http://www.rcbros.com/cart/Scripts/p...?idCategory=64 I bought the kit, transmission and cvd's there. MSR6 Jato shocks from www.towerhobbies.com It only needed mild modification to adapt to the kit.
mtfly2000 is offline Find More Posts by mtfly2000
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2007, 11:54 AM
qdv
Registered User
Joined May 2007
34 Posts
thanks for the link, I'll definately save money for that kit look awesome
this is what I'm thinking, I want another fan like the one on my ESC to mount on the motor, if I cut the wire and split it out, and plug into the BAT on the transmitter there will it work?

edit:also you have any videos of your rustler? how's the aluminum chasis? is it lighter weight?
qdv is offline Find More Posts by qdv
Last edited by qdv; May 20, 2007 at 12:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complaint My thread in the for sale forums closed for no reason and now it won't let me open it BD Flyer Site Suggestions / Complaints 2 Jan 30, 2007 09:04 PM
The hobby that won't let me go... ETrain Life, The Universe, and Politics 0 Aug 08, 2002 02:16 PM
So funny they won't let me type "rcgroups.com" JTinCT Electric Plane Talk 3 Jul 03, 2002 05:30 PM