HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 12, 2007, 11:32 AM
farmington hills mi.
Joined Sep 2006
815 Posts
Discussion
84" KMP P-38 F Build

I have been flying a 65" World Models P-51 for 3 years now, using a Phasor 45 with a 2.4:1 belt drive on 7s lipo and emoli. Other than the usual retract problems it has been reliable and has around 200 flights. See http://www.ezonemag.com/archive/200608.html What I want is a large P-38 that is reasonably scale that I can campaign like the P-51. There are two major problem areas as I see it.
1. Motor failure. Try flying a P-38 on a simulator like the G3 on one engine How many twins have I seen go in on one engine/motor.
2. Retracts, need I say more?
A couple years ago I started to build a 75" P-38 from a Wing (name of company) partial kit. It would need extensive mods to be decent looking and I abandoned it. CMP has an 84 inch P-38 that I am sure would fly well and is a bargain but is not as scale as I Would like it. KMP came out with two mostly fiberglass P-38's, F and J models! The J model moved the intercoolers from the outer wing panels to the distinctive large chin scoops to make room for fuel tanks in the outer wing panels. The earlier models had a sleek nose and "Phoebe" flown by Tom Lamphier shot down Admiral Yamamoto, commander in chief of the combined fleet in the earlier version. Payback for Pearl Harbor! I went with the F version and it will be Phoebe. After seeing what is available and pondering the special requirements of the 38 I decided to solve the gear issue by building my own.
tom bacsanyi is online now Find More Posts by tom bacsanyi
RCG Plus Member
to remove ads between posts
Old May 12, 2007, 04:06 PM
I just love flying
Traverse City ,MI
Joined Dec 2005
845 Posts
Yay for Custom Retracts!

Matt
MattZC is offline Find More Posts by MattZC
Old May 13, 2007, 02:23 PM
farmington hills mi.
Joined Sep 2006
815 Posts
The engine/motor issue: