SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 23, 2002, 11:47 AM
san diego
Joined Oct 2001
17 Posts
Recommendations for intermediate sport/aerobatic plane?

I am an intermediate pilot looking for recommendations as to an easy to fly plane with some aerobatic capability. 3D capability is not required and I am open to kits, ARFs, ARCs or whatever. I would prefer something with at least a 48 inch wingspan as larger is generally easier to fly. As to power I'm willing to invest in a new system although I have an AXI 2820/10 direct drive available from a crashed Accord 47 and a Jeti Phasor 45-3 direct drive I can remove from a never flown Cosmic Wind. I also have some speed 400s and 480s. Any recommendations would be appreciated.
rob dahlbo is offline Find More Posts by rob dahlbo
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 23, 2002, 12:43 PM
Involuntary Beta Tester
Joined Jan 2002
8,288 Posts
I'm new at RC flying, since February of this year. I just completed an E3D and find it easy to fly and even better easy to land. I don't know how to do 3D stuff just basic aerobatics. I fly it as a sport plane. I never had tried an outside loop but found it easy on the first attempt with this plane.

It has 48" ws, 600 sq inches and weighs 3.5lbs.

There is a ton of info on Ezone about this plane.

The kit is not hard to build but is delicate when framing up.

Motors that are used Endoplasma with 4.6:1, Mega BL 22/20/2 with 3.75 or 4:1, and Hacker C40 with 4.6:1. All these systems use 10 cell 3000 nmih or 2400 nicads for the recommended props.

Kelvin
kelvin is offline Find More Posts by kelvin
Old Oct 23, 2002, 01:26 PM
Naperville, IL USA
Joined Nov 2000
1,886 Posts