HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 01, 2007, 08:45 PM
United States, NY, Buffalo
Joined Mar 2007
325 Posts
Discussion
RCSP Blackwing build log (by an amateur)

Hello all,

I recently picked up a Blackwing from RCSuperPowers because I love the look of the profile. Dave got it to me super fast and I've already completed it. I figured I'd put up a quick and dirty build log.

It's my fifth foam build altogether. I have under my belt:
Dynam Focus 400EP RTF
GP FunForce Hellcat (2)
HL Yak 55 (the flat one)

So needless to say I'm no expert. I'm learning quite a bit thanks to the RC boards and other websites. One of my favorite tips I've picked up is to use a water/baking soda solution to speed the curing of CA. Without this tip I'd probably still be working on the Yak!

Anyway, on with the show. First thing I noticed was that the wing halves weren't the exact same thickness so I sanded the thicker side down a little with a sanding block.

Then I decided to use carbon rods to join the wing halves rather than use toothpicks. I used a metal motor mount spacer as a drill bit guide and drilled the wholes for the carbon tubes to join the wing halves.

I beveled all the control surfaces to a 45 degree angle with a straight-edge then used shipping tape to attach them.

I used the same trick to drill holes in the fuselage for carbon rods supports.

I painted the airframe with Design Master flat black and yellow spray paint. The painted airframe weighed in at 2.6oz without carbon supports.

Next I installed the carbon fiber motor supports. I used 6min epoxy for the long wing support and CA with my homemade accelerator for the rest.

Installation of the receiver followed. I cut strategic holes in the foam to allow the servo wires to all come through to the same side. I velcroed the receiver to the foam and used a zip tie with a piece of scrap plastic as a "washer" to keep the tie from tearing through the foam. I've never had this method fail on me yet!