HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 30, 2007, 05:21 AM
aerobuddy
Joined Dec 2004
85 Posts
Discussion
EagleTree Systems Pitot Tube ?

Hello,

Has anyone used pitot tube available with Eagle tree system http://www.eagletreesystems.com/Plane/plane.html ?

Is it good for medium sized models, like one with wing span 1.44m (<5ft)?
ashvani is offline Find More Posts by ashvani
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 30, 2007, 07:16 AM
Lift is cheap - Drag sucks
Tom Harper's Avatar
Socorro, NM
Joined Jul 2004
3,664 Posts
Works great for me. I use 6" brass tube through the leading edge of the wing and a static reference flush with the fuselage. I've use it on two models about the same size as you mention.

Tom
Tom Harper is offline Find More Posts by Tom Harper
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2007, 08:18 AM
aerobuddy
Joined Dec 2004
85 Posts
Mr. Harper
Can u please share a picture of the assembly ?
ashvani is offline Find More Posts by ashvani
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2007, 08:54 AM
Old fart. VAAATSP
d_wheel's Avatar
Deep in the Heart of Texas
Joined Jun 2004
2,091 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashvani
Hello,

Has anyone used pitot tube available with Eagle tree system http://www.eagletreesystems.com/Plane/plane.html ?

Is it good for medium sized models, like one with wing span 1.44m (<5ft)?

I first tested mine on an EasyStar . Used a 3" piece of plastic tubing for the pitot and left the static vent open inside the feselage. Worked great.

Later;

D.W.
d_wheel is offline Find More Posts by d_wheel
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2007, 12:33 PM
Lift is cheap - Drag sucks
Tom Harper's Avatar
Socorro, NM
Joined Jul 2004
3,664 Posts
Ashvani,

Not much to see, but here it is.
Tom Harper is offline Find More Posts by Tom Harper
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2007, 02:17 PM
aerobuddy
Joined Dec 2004
85 Posts
thanks!
ashvani is offline Find More Posts by ashvani
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2007, 02:20 PM
Registered User
Minnesota
Joined Sep 2004
504 Posts
This tip will cost $10. :-) But it is *really* easy to ding up your pitot tube when handling your wing. Even if you know it's there and are careful ... speaking from experience here. :-)

We use carbon fiber tubes because it's so easy to bend your metal tubes ... even when you are trying to be careful.
clolson is offline Find More Posts by clolson
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2007, 02:23 PM
aerobuddy
Joined Dec 2004
85 Posts
are they (carbon fiber ones) available for purchase .. ??
ashvani is offline Find More Posts by ashvani
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2007, 02:54 PM
Lift is cheap - Drag sucks
Tom Harper's Avatar
Socorro, NM
Joined Jul 2004
3,664 Posts
Olson is right! I've ripped the thing off twice in five flights.
Tom Harper is offline Find More Posts by Tom Harper
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2007, 03:14 PM
aerobuddy
Joined Dec 2004
85 Posts
then i better use carbon fiber one.. thanks for the advice in time.. . i was just going to place the order for the EagleTree one.

Where can I get the carbon fiber one ??
ashvani is offline Find More Posts by ashvani
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2007, 03:21 PM
Registered User
Minnesota
Joined Sep 2004
504 Posts
I see lots of carbon fiber tubes in my local hobby shop ...
clolson is offline Find More Posts by clolson
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2007, 12:25 AM
aerobuddy
Joined Dec 2004
85 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by clolson
I see lots of carbon fiber tubes in my local hobby shop ...
but then don't u need to calibrate it ??
ashvani is offline Find More Posts by ashvani
Reply With Quote
Old May 01, 2007, 09:59 AM
Registered User
Minnesota
Joined Sep 2004
504 Posts
I don't have a lot of experience with pitot tubes. I've been told that in full scale airframes there is somewhat of an art involved with selecting the optimal location for the pitot tube. In our uav airframe, we extended the tube about 6" forward of the leading edge of the wing and far enough out that it wouldn't be affected by the prop wash. The resulting numbers from our sensor (Xbow MNAV) seemed very plausible. A coworker with much more UAV experience than I have indicated that the length of the pitot tube does not have an affect on the sensed pressure. I'm sure you would want to validate your own results in your own application.
clolson is offline Find More Posts by clolson
Reply With Quote
Old May 04, 2007, 12:17 AM
Registered User
5 miles from the geographical center of Pennsylvania
Joined Aug 2005
2,144 Posts
with the Xbow, you really don't have an option with the static pressure, since there isn't a connetor for the on the sensor. I just realized that the cooling scoop I put in the window may not be that great of an idea.
Unterhausen is offline Find More Posts by Unterhausen
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article Eagletree Systems MicroPower E-Logger Review with V2 Updates! frankswd Power Systems 38 Jul 05, 2009 08:57 PM
DIY Pitot tube kfong DIY Electronics 36 Nov 15, 2006 08:32 PM
Article Eagletree Systems MicroPower E-Logger Review frankswd Sailplane Talk 0 Feb 22, 2006 01:00 AM
Has anybody built a pitot tube? ElectroLawndart UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 5 Apr 23, 2005 05:11 PM