HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 20, 2007, 02:17 PM
trying to kick the habit
United States, CA
Joined Mar 2006
1,396 Posts
Discussion
A123 Systems and their sales policy

I have been pondering this question for quite some time and cant figure it out. Maybe because I am an engineer and not a businessman. From a business (read monetary) standpoint, why would A123 systems only cell () to certain manufacturers? I understand they can probably sell the cells for a little more to those manufacturers if they sign a contract saying that they wont sell to anyone else. It seems that the revenue from this slight increase in sales price would be A LOT less than the revenue generated by openening up the market to Makita, Milwaukee, Porter-Cable, Craftsman, custom pack builders (E-vehicles: Bikes, scooters, RC hobby), Laptop manufacturers, etc. I dont get it.

Anyone with more business sense then I care to explain?
Crashaholic is offline Find More Posts by Crashaholic
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 20, 2007, 03:24 PM
CNC Cutter
United States, IN, Indianapolis
Joined Dec 2005
8,530 Posts
Here here ! ! !

BTW you cant tell Up East types how to do business !

or anything else for that matter.

Then again it may be Dewalt that is the Problem
birdofplay is offline Find More Posts by birdofplay
Old Apr 20, 2007, 03:26 PM
Nothing like a good WOODIE!
USA, DE, Newark
Joined Jun 2005
1,656 Posts
Limited Exposure= More demand
More demand = higher prices
Higher prices = more short term profits

I am no expert but this is my view about the whole scenario. If and when the A123 and E-moli cells become mainstream (give it another year) you will see a drastic price reduction, just look at Lipo's their prices are slowly dropping and quality and capacity are increasing.

cooper998
cooper998 is offline Find More Posts by cooper998
Old Apr 20, 2007, 03:59 PM
Suspended Account
Fountain Valley, California
Joined Feb 2004
10,768 Posts
What cooper998 said.