HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 18, 2007, 02:22 PM
Joined Feb 2007
67 Posts
Discussion
HBFP-like heli capable of flight in wind??

Well, I've gotten pretty good with my blade CX2. I'm ready for a good outdoor flyer. I've been VERY tempted to get the HB FP, but I live in an area where it's usually pretty windy…not extremely windy, but there's always a little breeze. I want to fly strictly outdoors so I need to be able to handle the wind. So, I'm assuming a CP is better than an FP? Also, I guess I'm a beginner so I don't want anything too ridiculously hard to fly. I bet I could handle a CP from the minimal sim time I've spent at the hobby shop. I was flyin upside down and stuff, although that's not my interest. I just want to be able to fly outside in FFF and do nice banking turns. 3D not necessary!!!

So what would be a good beginner heli that would be capable of flying outdoors in light wind conditions? I really like the HBFP and the price. Could it handle slight winds? Is there a comparable heli that can? I'm sure I'll probably end up with the HB FP anyway because of the price

Peace,
Stoddardvilla
stoddardvilla is offline Find More Posts by stoddardvilla
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 18, 2007, 02:26 PM
www.rctodayshow.com
Austin, TX
Joined Sep 2005
11,495 Posts
I think that depends on your definition of "slight winds". I have flown my Honey Bee FP in winds well over 10mph, but it wasn't easy (or fun, actually). Breeze of 5-8 mph presents some challenge, but is easily managed.

-Chris
JustPlaneChris is online now Find More Posts by JustPlaneChris
Old Apr 18, 2007, 02:40 PM
VT
Joined Feb 2006
2,150 Posts
I'm assuming a CP is better than an FP?
-In my opinion, generally speaking a cp handles wind better than an fp. Whatever you get, good luck to you...
elan is online now Find More Posts by elan
Old Apr 18, 2007, 02:49 PM
PAS
California, USA
Joined Sep 2000
69 Posts