HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 14, 2007, 12:25 AM
Wait, Im not doing that
w4r_T4ct1c's Avatar
Danville, IL
Joined Apr 2007
102 Posts
Discussion
New Rc Equipment!!

I traded my T-maxx and Savage for a almost ready Corona. I traded everything from the new corna that was better than mine to my current setup.. It came with some type of Castle Creations but I can't tell what type..
I also received an antenna for my rx but i was once told you cannot cut the wire. Is it safe to cut the black wire and solder it to the antenna? So I just wanted to know to proper way to hook it up, I have pictures of everything enclosed. Although my gyro sucks, it flew smoother than every other than the fact it just kept spinning. Feel free to comment on any of the pics. I need all the help I can get.

Thanks,
Corey
w4r_T4ct1c is offline Find More Posts by w4r_T4ct1c
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 14, 2007, 01:27 AM
mad heli scientist
Gadget01's Avatar
United States, OK, Oklahoma City
Joined Dec 2005
4,034 Posts
2 Coronas eh? Try flying them both at the same time!!

Someone sure cut the motor leads awfully short. That's a bit of a crime. The servos look like a thrifty choice, but if they work then who cares. That ESC looks like a Phoenix 35. That external antenna allows you to cut the rx antenna. A light guage bullet connector is a good way to connect the two. If you just use the rx antenna wire by itself, then do not cut it. The length is tuned for the rx's radio frequency.
Gadget01 is offline Find More Posts by Gadget01
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2007, 02:16 AM
Our Daddy and Heli Junkie
Fred Bronk's Avatar
In Heli Wonderland
Joined Aug 1999
22,799 Posts
The motor wires look stock length, just the ESC wires look short. No Problemo Yes, CC Pheonix 35.

Cut the wire for the ant 6-10 in from the RX for the loaded antenna.

Get rid of the GWS Piezo gyro and move it away from the RX.

Turn the ESC over that is stuck on the frame. The other side with the FETs should be out. Just suspend it with the wires for the best cooling.

FB
Fred Bronk is offline Find More Posts by Fred Bronk
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2007, 10:08 AM
Wait, Im not doing that
w4r_T4ct1c's Avatar
Danville, IL
Joined Apr 2007
102 Posts
I wish I was good enough to even fly 1 at a time..lol
Alright, I took the velcro off the esc and it just sits exactly how it does with velcro..
I cut the rx antenna to 7 inches long and connected the loaded antenna
Now I need to know where to move my crappy gyro

Thanks a bunch guys,
Corey
w4r_T4ct1c is offline Find More Posts by w4r_T4ct1c
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2007, 10:14 AM
Our Daddy and Heli Junkie
Fred Bronk's Avatar
In Heli Wonderland
Joined Aug 1999
22,799 Posts
Back near the tailboom, away from the RX.

FB
Fred Bronk is offline Find More Posts by Fred Bronk
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2007, 10:22 AM
Wait, Im not doing that
w4r_T4ct1c's Avatar
Danville, IL
Joined Apr 2007
102 Posts
Alright, Thanks Fred

Corey
w4r_T4ct1c is offline Find More Posts by w4r_T4ct1c
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2007, 10:58 AM
Wait, Im not doing that
w4r_T4ct1c's Avatar
Danville, IL
Joined Apr 2007
102 Posts
Problem number 6,872 from me..

The wire for the gyro only allow it to be where it is.. Its on;y like 2inches long
w4r_T4ct1c is offline Find More Posts by w4r_T4ct1c
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2007, 12:29 PM
mad heli scientist
Gadget01's Avatar
United States, OK, Oklahoma City
Joined Dec 2005
4,034 Posts
See... there is another thread where guys are raving about how cool it is to cut their gyro cables to barely make it to the RX- this is just a little reason why sometimes it's not such a bright idea.

Corey, you could do this- cut the connector pins off and solder on a servo extension- just make sure you splice the wires in the correct order. If it's a piezo gyro with no heading hold function, it may not be worth the effort. I had nothing but tail problems until I got a gy240. It's a good gyro, but I wish I had spent the extra $20 the first time and got the gy401. Instead of getting a 401 from the get-go, I wasted lots of cash on the others. If your tx/rx combo support the extra channel needed for the 401, you would do yourself a favor by getting one.
Gadget01 is offline Find More Posts by Gadget01
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2007, 01:09 PM
Wait, Im not doing that
w4r_T4ct1c's Avatar
Danville, IL
Joined Apr 2007
102 Posts
i only have a 4channel receiver, so I have to get a GY240?
w4r_T4ct1c is offline Find More Posts by w4r_T4ct1c
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2007, 01:30 PM
mad heli scientist
Gadget01's Avatar
United States, OK, Oklahoma City
Joined Dec 2005
4,034 Posts
Correct- and it will do a good job, as it does heading hold. Just get as much slop out of the control linkage as you can.
Gadget01 is offline Find More Posts by Gadget01
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2007, 02:17 PM
Wait, Im not doing that
w4r_T4ct1c's Avatar
Danville, IL
Joined Apr 2007
102 Posts
Cool, thanks...

Ill get 1 in a couple weeks
w4r_T4ct1c is offline Find More Posts by w4r_T4ct1c
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I am new to RC plane xadmin Electric Plane Talk 4 Apr 05, 2008 08:49 AM
New to RC Airplane - Question about S400 F9F Panthere NetForce2K Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 6 Apr 29, 2002 10:56 AM
New to RC flying, interested in a low-cost indoor option Sparr Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 21 Apr 27, 2002 08:56 PM
New to RC and Slow Flyers akatul Parkflyers 7 Feb 05, 2002 04:36 PM
What should I do with my old RC equipment??? atsiang Electric Plane Talk 15 Jun 22, 2001 12:05 AM