HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 16, 2002, 03:14 AM
Oz Member
Near Mallala, South Oz
Joined Nov 2001
161 Posts
EP and R/C Keil Kraft Chief?

Any body converted this old kit to firstly R/C and secondly to Electric? I've inherited one, and I'm thinking with a geared 400 (mainly 'cause i got a mini olympus kicking around and suitable cell packs) it would make a relaxing "climb and soar" model. Sort of an "old timer" style of thing. (Well it is OLD!)
Ragnar is offline Find More Posts by Ragnar
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 16, 2002, 07:48 AM
Cambridge, UK
Joined Mar 2002
16 Posts
Funny you should say that...it was being given a part built KK Chief 50 years ago (!) that really got me going in aeromodelling, although I had been building several of the KK 3/6d kits for several years previous to then.

I actually have a part built one (fuz only, so far) sitting on the shelf beside me!

I bought the kit with the intention of electrocuting it, but decided it would need some serious strengthening up in the wing attachment area.

I then got sidetracked (as you do...) and it's been gathering dust ever since.

It would need to flown with some sympathy for it's construction, and it's weight kept to a minimum to keep it's nice flight characteristics.

I think you've just got me interested (again)
"e-flier" is offline Find More Posts by "e-flier"
Last edited by "e-flier"; Oct 16, 2002 at 11:05 AM.
Old Oct 16, 2002, 05:14 PM
Single-task at best...
Telford, UK
Joined Feb 2000
7,509 Posts
Hey! Where'd the picture go?

I too was given one of these as a kid, about 35 years ago. I never flew it though; as I recall it fell of its perch on top of the wardrobe, landed upsidedown on the wingtips, and the resultant pressure split the wing-tongue box wide open. I think the 'Mum tidying-up' factor came into force soon after......

Based on that experience, if I were to convert on now then I'd certainly wrap the wing box in kevlar thread or just plain glasscloth.