SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 15, 2002, 10:32 PM
Who's scaring the kittens
Joined Apr 2002
752 Posts
What Paint does GWS use?

Got our GWS Piper FD (full-fuse version) and it looks to be a sweet flier. I thought the foam was pre-tinted, but looking inside the fuse halves, the foam is white and the assemblies are painted. My son likes the yellow of this plane and my Graupner Mini-piper is a virgin white. Why should he have a nicely painted one, so I decided to do mine in an orange or red.
What type of paint do I use? Will it weigh down the plane? What is "foam-safe" in regards to using a water-based vs a petroleum base?
I'd rather spray than brush (I don't have an airbrush), so I need the type in an aresol can.
I'm new to painting, since I usually "decal" all my foamy park fliers.
Thanks for all help!
ViperR is offline Find More Posts by ViperR
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 15, 2002, 11:02 PM
Canada, BC, Nanaimo
Joined Jul 2002
336 Posts
I've used Testors model spray paint with no problems what so ever. When it came time to paint my GWS Beaver I went to Wal-Mart with big hopes of finding a nice spray paint. There were no labels explaining the type of paint it was. So I asked the employee that worked in the paint section. I told him what I needed, an acrylic that is foam safe, blah, blah, blah. He showed me what paints to use and I was on my way with my new spray paint cans. I masked off my beaver and painted. OH NO! I sat there and watched the foam bubble and get eaten away. Luckily I had only sprayed a light coat. So basically what I am saying is, if you find a paint, make sure that you test it on some scrap foam before.

Jason Loos
http://www.curtek.com
Blazin_Jason is offline Find More Posts by Blazin_Jason
Old Oct 16, 2002, 04:18 AM
Captain Carnage says......
Seminole (St Pete.), Florida/ Seminole Crash Fest
Joined Jun 2002
5,329 Posts
i have used many paints

on my birds and found that the best stuff (foam safe)