Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Mar 31, 2007, 09:15 PM
Farmington Hills, MI
Joined Jul 2006
301 Posts
Discussion
Newbie Ritewing TL-50 build

This thread is a little late. I had the wing nearly built and messed up the fiberglass process. CK did an excellent build video, HOWEVER, most everyone that builds a Ritewing has built something else before. But I'm a total newbie... other than I've been spending a lot of time on the G3.5 simulator.

I still might be way over my head starting with a Ritewing. That remains to be seen. But that is not really what this thread is about.

My big mistake was not laying down enough 3M 90. I watched that section of the video before I went out. I was trying to keep the weight down or conserve on glue. It actually looked like I was spending more time spraying than CK was on the video and maybe I was.

IMPORTANT TIP!!! Before you start glassing your wing, look straight down on the 3M 90 can at the nozzle. You will see the letters L, M and H. Crank it over to H for high.

I was NOT laying down enough glue. It looked fine when I left it, but the next morning the mesh was bubbled up and some of the mesh wasn't sticking down to the foam. I tried laying down some more glue and got out some wax paper, aluminum foil and an iron. It was a regular iron, not a monokoat iron. This might have worked, but I got the foam too hot and it started caving.

I'll start posting pictures, probably tomorrow. I took a bunch of pics along the way, but I've got to sort them out. I will also take pics of the replacement build. I have a couple of ideas to improve on my last build... besides using enough glue.
Abrams is offline Find More Posts by Abrams
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 31, 2007, 10:57 PM
Fly me to the moon...
Sacramento
Joined Jun 2005
4,140 Posts
Hey bro, sorry to hear about the mishap

Here is what I recommend. Go to RCworks.com and buy a couple of their cores they are very affordable but high quality.