HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 28, 2007, 11:15 AM
Riverview, FL
Joined Dec 2002
1,497 Posts
Question
what happens when a lipo gets old & tired?

have some lipos that charge well, seem to last a decent period of time in flight, but i was wondering how to tell if theyre old and tired. will they start feeling like the pack is run down - even when they have just been fully charged?
nose_first is offline Find More Posts by nose_first
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 28, 2007, 12:38 PM
Lexington, Ky
Joined Apr 2004
421 Posts
I have been using lipos for two or three years and I've never had one whose performance has noticeably declined to me simply through being cycled. I poofed one and totally discharge one, but they seem to last forever. Additionally, I try to avoid getting mine hot.
Condre' is offline Find More Posts by Condre'
Old Mar 28, 2007, 12:43 PM
Electric Helis is my game
Lidingo, Sweden
Joined Feb 2005
2,755 Posts
My oldest pack (that has survived) dont show a decline in voltage, but just as a safety precaution I draw less from them.

Those that didnt survive didnt show anything, until they puffed or a cell just went bad.

If you start feeling a pack dont have a good punch anymore then its the last few cycles your on..., a cell have probably already gone bad.
MrMel is offline Find More Posts by MrMel
Old Mar 28, 2007, 12:45 PM
Finland
Joined Aug 2005
695 Posts
lipos start to "die" immediately when being built in factory. Their chemistry start to change in a way that internal resistance increases. This leads to a situation, that accu pack gets charged normally but you just cannot get the power out of the pack due the increased resistance. Also this internal resistance increases if storing lipo packs fully charged. The most safe storing voltage is around 3.75V/cell. If you measure just bought quality packs, they do come charged close to that voltage. Also overheating during discharge will shorten the life of accus dramatically.