HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 12, 2002, 09:09 PM
PiLoTuS pArKfLyIcOuS
torcgolf's Avatar
Dub Cee, California
Joined Aug 2002
928 Posts
Question
power supply recommendations... HELP

hi all. i have a dymond super turbo charger and want to get a power supply for home. can anyone recommend any? i saw some at radio shack for a reasonable price and heard that people have actually made some from computer power supplies, are these safe? pros and cons please
torcgolf is offline Find More Posts by torcgolf
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 12, 2002, 09:45 PM
Registered User
bosley's Avatar
United States, CA, Twentynine Palms
Joined Jun 2002
1,189 Posts
I made one from a PC power supply for around $30.00. It must be safe, as it has been running nonstop for the last 30ish hours. I am doing a C/10 charge on a new pack for a couple charge discharge cycles. I also have the dymond super turbo and it works great with the PC power supply. You can find some threads about how to build your own over in the LIFT ZONE under MODELING SCIENCE. It is really easy to build one and after doing it this way I can't see spending the money to purchase one premade. All the supplys I saw were around $100.00 or more and that seems a bit too much to me. I can't see any cons to this setup unless you don't have the time or tools to do it, but all it takes is a soldering iron and some wire cutters. How tidy you make it is entirely up yo tou. Hope this helps.
Boz
bosley is online now Find More Posts by bosley
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2002, 10:14 PM
PiLoTuS pArKfLyIcOuS
torcgolf's Avatar
Dub Cee, California
Joined Aug 2002
928 Posts
thanks boz...

can you post your power supply details? i want to build one myself but i want to make sure i get all the right components.

pics if available. thanks!
torcgolf is offline Find More Posts by torcgolf
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2002, 11:45 PM
Green Member
FX1SUB's Avatar
NJ
Joined Mar 2002
788 Posts
Check out this thread. All the info you need is in it

12 Volt PC Power Supply

Joe
FX1SUB is offline Find More Posts by FX1SUB
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2002, 12:09 AM
PiLoTuS pArKfLyIcOuS
torcgolf's Avatar
Dub Cee, California
Joined Aug 2002
928 Posts
i checked that post...

still kinda confusing. maybe i should just get a turn-key unit. will this work???

http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...%5Fid=22%2D502
torcgolf is offline Find More Posts by torcgolf
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2002, 12:35 AM
PiLoTuS pArKfLyIcOuS
torcgolf's Avatar
Dub Cee, California
Joined Aug 2002
928 Posts
here are some details...

Regulated 3-Amp DC Power Supply
(220-0504) Specifications Faxback Doc. # 34380


Input Voltage:.......................................... ...110 to 120V AC
Input Frequency:........................................ ............60 Hz
Input Power Rating:........................................... ......100 W
Output Voltage:....................................13.8V DC +/- 0.5 Volts
Output Current:............................3 Amps DC Continuous (Maximum)
Line Regulation:....................................... ...Less Than +/-5%
Load Regulation:....................................... ...Less Than +/-5%
Overload Protection:............................Circuit Breaker 2.5A/250V
Output Ripple:........................................... ......100 mV RMS
Design:........................................... ............Linear Type
Operating Temperature:................................32 to 104 Degrees F
(0 to 40 Degrees C)
Storage Temperature:.................................-13 to 158 Degrees F
(-25 to 70 Degrees C)
Input Cable:.......................18 AWG x 2C w/1-15P Plug, SPT-2 6 Feet
Output Terminal:............................Binding Post 10 Amp/125 Volts
Power Switch:...................................Illumina ted, 15 A/125V AC
Dimensions:............................3 1/4 x 4 7/8 x 8 1/4 Inches (HWD)
(82 x 124 x 210 mm)
Weight:........................................... ....5.18 lbs (2.35 kgs)





does this sound like it'll work?
torcgolf is offline Find More Posts by torcgolf
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2002, 12:50 AM
Green Member
FX1SUB's Avatar
NJ
Joined Mar 2002
788 Posts
That will not work with the DST. I beleive you need a minimuml of 8amps for it. That only has 3.
FX1SUB is offline Find More Posts by FX1SUB
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2002, 12:56 AM
Green Member
FX1SUB's Avatar
NJ
Joined Mar 2002
788 Posts
If you want to buy one here's a link that I got from an e-zone search. This should work perfectly.

12V Power Supply

Joe
FX1SUB is offline Find More Posts by FX1SUB
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2002, 02:12 AM
PiLoTuS pArKfLyIcOuS
torcgolf's Avatar
Dub Cee, California
Joined Aug 2002
928 Posts
thanks joe

i'll check that out... btw, i was charging my packs earlier and was wondering if there is any way to tell how many remaining mAh you have per pack? the reason being, i was trying to make sure i have a full pack for tomorrows early morning flight. i notice that i never seem to charge any packs their full capacity. like tonight, i charged one of my 150 mAh packs and the DST only read 120 mAh when it ended. does this mean i had roughly 30mAh left to the pack?
torcgolf is offline Find More Posts by torcgolf
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2002, 02:30 AM
PiLoTuS pArKfLyIcOuS
torcgolf's Avatar
Dub Cee, California
Joined Aug 2002
928 Posts
has anyone done this type of explaination of the Dymond Super Turbo?

http://www.ronlund.com/super_nova_250s.htm


i have the manual but this seems to make more sense to me.
torcgolf is offline Find More Posts by torcgolf
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2002, 07:04 AM
PUGZ RULE!
juantrinidad's Avatar
Joined Jun 2002
557 Posts
black box....

Ive been in the market for one. So far these are the best two bargains I've found.

very soon the novak black box power supply will be available. it is listed for $41 over at tower. if its good enough to charge car batteries at 5 amps, should be good enough for us air heads.

After that, the $44.95 supply at MPJA previously posted looks good.

JT
juantrinidad is offline Find More Posts by juantrinidad
Last edited by juantrinidad; Oct 13, 2002 at 07:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2002, 07:19 AM
Registered User
bosley's Avatar
United States, CA, Twentynine Palms
Joined Jun 2002
1,189 Posts
I don't have any picks to show you but the PC power supply I got was purchased off the bargain table at the local computer store.
It is a turbo cool 250 AT power supply. It's outputs are10 amps @12v, and25amps @ 5v. You are only really concerned with the 12v output. I chose this one because it allready had an on/off switch installed, but the rest were comparable as far as output amps and they were a little bit cheaper. I was also a bit confused before I got the pc power supply but once I cracked it open and saw with my own eyes what everyone had been talking about it all became crystal clear. On the other hand the the supply mentioned by FX1SUB seems like a good deal but I think you may have to install a power cord. No big deal but something to consider. I just figured that any questions I had once I got going could be asked and answered here, which is really a great resource.


As far as your batteries not going all the way up to full capacity, they may not have been fully discharged before yo peaked them. An easy way to fix that is to do the discharge-charge cycle for the packs before you use them the first time that day.

If you do decide to go with the PC power supply just ask all your questions herre and someone will be able to answer them. Hope you get one going
Boz
bosley is online now Find More Posts by bosley
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2002, 12:11 PM
PiLoTuS pArKfLyIcOuS
torcgolf's Avatar
Dub Cee, California
Joined Aug 2002
928 Posts
thank you

im gonna go to my local computer stor today and see what i can find.
torcgolf is offline Find More Posts by torcgolf
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2002, 09:37 PM
PiLoTuS pArKfLyIcOuS
torcgolf's Avatar
Dub Cee, California
Joined Aug 2002
928 Posts
found this on the net...

http://www.racerxrc.com/Power-Supplies.htm

they talk about how to quickly set up a 12v DC charger to a PC power supply. cool pics too.
torcgolf is offline Find More Posts by torcgolf
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2002, 02:11 AM
Seņor Meember
Sloper Mario's Avatar
Joined Sep 2001
973 Posts
Umm.. not sure why no one ever mentions these but the Pyramid 12 Amp supply works very well and for ~$35 they can't be beat.
http://shop.store.yahoo.com/hypaudio/ps14kx.html

Mario
Sloper Mario is offline Find More Posts by Sloper Mario
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Idea Mod 12VDC 32Amp Power Supply : Need Help! RockDragon Batteries and Chargers 138 Apr 20, 2014 05:14 PM
Got a new 2.5amp wall Power Supply, Need Help! Suntzu Batteries and Chargers 24 Dec 15, 2004 04:51 PM
Power supply recommendations Hobby CNC chopper? bgriggs The Builders Workshop 1 May 25, 2004 01:52 PM
2 charger with 1 power supply..need help VR6 Batteries and Chargers 2 Sep 04, 2003 11:33 AM
Computer Power Supply Probs - Help!!! indyrcpilot Batteries and Chargers 4 Feb 16, 2003 10:11 PM