HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 24, 2007, 03:24 PM
Happy when flying
Joined Dec 2004
205 Posts
Discussion
My PsychoCat build thread (catamaran)

Hi all,
long time since I was here last. Was a frequent poster at the AP forum 2yrs ago(?). Well this time I am going to get my almost 2yrs old PsychoCat boat ready for the summer. I am hoping that someone here can help me out with general boat building tips because this hull came without any instructions. Got some pics from the manufacturer on how to mount the rudder but thats it. I'll be posting pics here asap.

PsychoCat:
60cm long, 23cm wide, 600gr heavy.

It is going to be a LiPo + Brushless configuration. I've been thinking on using the Mamba Max 5700 + Barracuda 125 ESC on LiPo 3s1p 11.1V. Is this setup realistic? The manufacturer recommended Lehner 1940/8 & Schulze 17/149 ESC on 18cells Nimh. Haven't found any good info on what that that motor & ESC exactly is. I have no Nimh experience. MM + Barracuda would be good cause I already own the MM and I have used Castle Creations products for two years and I like them a lot.

I have no previous experience in RC boats.

Pics of the PsychoCat 1
Pics of the PsychoCat 2
botmund is offline Find More Posts by botmund
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 24, 2007, 06:55 PM
Joined Nov 2005
1,617 Posts
do you plan to race the boat? or just run it as a 'fun' boat? that motor is likely not going to be happy running on 11.1v. I'm planning to build a similar size cat and have been advised to run a 3000-3500kv motor on 8cells(nimh, figure 7.2 v under load). you'll prolly find that a kv rating of 2500-3000(on either an 540L or xl) better suited for the boat.
edit
just looked at the boat. while my german is non-existant(as is my speeling) I was able to see which motor they used... you'll be wanting an 'xl' size motor with a kv rating 2000-2500 for sport use, maybe 3000kv for racing.
Rex R is offline Find More Posts by Rex R
Last edited by Rex R; Mar 24, 2007 at 07:02 PM.