HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 24, 2007, 11:40 AM
Simpsonville, SC
Joined Mar 2007
84 Posts
Discussion
"MRC" 1976 Piper Cherokee Archer- To be Re-born

Hello Guys
New member today! I guess now that I am starting this project of putting my Cherokee back together after 30 years. And thought you all might like to know about it.

Well! back in 1976 after I graduated High school I purchased my first RC airplane from Orange Blossom hobbies in Miami Fl. down on N.W 36 street.
Some of you may know the place. Anyway! I bought the plane and flew it about a month later at Markham Park RC flying field on State RD. 84 West of Ft. Lauderdale, Fl.

Well, It was my first flight and I put her in the ground. Well the crash took out the nose area just behind the fire wall. The fuselage is all fiberglass and the wing is foam core with balsa sheeting, and real nice plane for it's time.

Well now after all these years. I have now decided to put her back together.
I am going to need replace the original ENYA .40 engine with a NEW O.S 40 FX, and purchasing a Spektrum DX7 radio. I had to build a fiberglass cowling by hand to match the original design which was not too easy. It looks Ok but is not perfect.
I hope to start this project within a couple of weeks and have it finished by springs end.
I have attached a couple of photos from the other day that I took in my front yard. I hope to dig through my old family photos of the plane when it was NEW back in 1976 and attached them here also for you to view.
I will add photos of this project as I make progress so come back soon.
3/30/07 Two photos have been added below of how the model looked before the crash
4/4/07 Tail section repair: I have added a few more photos of the repair I made to the horizontal stab.
4/7/07 I Ordered replacement wheel pants from Hanger 9 and they have arrived. They look pretty close to the original ones that came with the Piper.