SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 20, 2007, 11:57 PM
Joined Mar 2007
44 Posts
Discussion
Axe EZ - How to Tell if Motor is Burned Out?

I have been flying a Heli-Max Axe EZ for two months . . . with great pleasure. It flew perfectly through my last flight on Sunday afternoon. But when I tried to fly it again tonight, it just spun on its axis, because the bottom rotor blades aren't turning at all; only its top rotor blades spin now.

I then took the EZ apart (i.e., I took the body off of it), because I thought a screw may have loosened on the shaft collar assembly. Alas, I discovered the screw is tight, and instead, the problem is that the front motor shaft isn't turning, at all, not even slowly. The wires to the motor all seem to be secure. So I'm afraid the motor burned out.

My last flight on Sunday was not overly-long, and I didn't notice that the battery or the motor was hot. Is there any other explanation -- other than that the motor burned out -- that could explain why the motor suddenly isn't working any more?

If the motor has burned out, how difficult will it be to replace? It looks as though some soldering may be necessary; and I haven't owned a soldering gun since I was in junior high school (more than 40 years ago)!

Thanks for your thoughts,

-Lon
Lon33 is offline Find More Posts by Lon33
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 21, 2007, 05:21 PM
BeeZaur 480
Parkville Mo.
Joined Dec 2004
5,522 Posts
Try tapping on the motor can with the handle of a screwdriver. Sometimes a brush can stick or bind up and not make a connection.

THe only way to check it is to unsolder it from the circuit and apply some voltage to it and see if it spins. If it does spin then it could be a problem with the ESC

Have you tried to google the problem? maybe there are others with this same problem and they have found a fix.
BowerR64 is offline Find More Posts by BowerR64
Old Mar 21, 2007, 11:13 PM
Joined Mar 2007
44 Posts
BoweR64,