SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 13, 2007, 04:03 AM
expensive lawndarts
Joined Mar 2007
20 Posts
Build Log
Blackhawk UH-60 Shogun

Hello all,
I'm new to Rcgroups but old to R/C. I've been doing it for more than 14 years. Anyhow, I thought I'd show everyone the build up of my Shogun V2 into a Blackhawk.

I started flying R/C helicopters alittle more than a year ago and have gotten pretty good at it. However, I've progressed to a point where I'm risking my investment by flying it high enough to do aerobatics but far enough away to loose orientation quickly. So I figured instead of smashing it into the ground upside down, I would put I really big, visible body on it and get cool-point for scale instead of 3d.

I picked up the body from a guy on ebay for $25. Although the plastic is really thin, it looks like a good mold when everything is taped together and it only weighs 2oz.

The 1st major thing I've done to it was fabricate a raised tail drive out of aluminum. I brainstormed for a few hours til I came up with the idea of using 2 belts to drive the tail rotor. I have it set up to where I can use the stock length tail boom along with the stock belt. I chose this so I can quickly convert back to the stock configuration and to keep parts accessible. I machined myself two tail boom clamps out of T-6 aluminum block and side brackets out of t-3 0.040 aluminum sheets. Then I bolted it together using 2-56 screws and nuts. It still needs 4 more screws and my bearing block but I should have that made in a few days. I mocked it together to get the second belt length. The total weight of the unit is 14 grams.

I'm still undecided on what color to paint it. I'm leaning toward the dark army green with the red cross on the nose and sides OR paint it using the coast guards red and white colors. Hmmm. Decisions.
Whiskeyfoxtrot is offline Find More Posts by Whiskeyfoxtrot
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 13, 2007, 05:07 AM
Singapore
Joined Jan 2004