HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 11, 2007, 04:50 PM
Sukhoi SU27
U.K
Joined Mar 2007
23 Posts
Help!
SU 27 - Im new with loads of ?s - Thread also in EDF as i dont know where to post?

Hello all, i am new to the site and i realy must say there is so much here i dont know where to start.

I have just bought a Hawk EDF as a basic trainer which i will fly about but i have much greater ambition. I am a qualified Glider Pilot, I was a cadet when younger and became Staff at a Gliding School. I have flown a few prop aircraft but mostly on the Grob 103 Viking with over 70hrs, 9 hrs solo. I have also done an AVCE in Engineering and Product Design.

I have loved jets since i was young and the jet that captured my imagination was the SU-27, Im going to be completely honest and say i realy dont know where to start and what options are available...A complete Newbie. U sualy peps come to me as im very into modified cars and tuning.

So, how advanced are the controllers now, can you program transmitters to allow elevators to work as semi-elevons when banking to aid ailerons, or do you simply use a primitive slider system. It would be nice to use Canards on the SU 37 also but i'll start at the bottom of the ladder for now. It would also be very easy to link up vertical axis pivoting of the exhaust with elevators with larger torque servos maybe, Thrust Vectoring is definatley something i will incorporate, i'll just stick with vertical axis for starters.

For starters i want to use 2 x EDF but will eventualy end up with a twin Turbine setup. I want to get familliar before i spend 5k and smash it up. I also love the High AOA style flight of the SU 27 / F 18 / F16, with correct weight and power is this possible? I cant find any Videos of EDF / Turbine setups just pictures.... I love the Wren powered Hawk build threads, especialy the larger scale ones...Respect!