SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 23, 2007, 12:07 PM
RC Airplane Crasher
Mesa, AZ
Joined Jan 2007
930 Posts
Discussion
Want a plane to fly in small spaces!

I have been flying a little while, not much, but I have some experience now. I have been flying a Hobbyzone Super Cub and it's pretty easy. I have also trained a lot on the Realflight simulator with aileron planes. I actually feel more comfortable flying a plane with ailerons because you can control the plane better.

ANYWAY... I find that I don't have time to fly in my day-to-day life and even on the weekends, I often don't have time to go somewhere with enough room to fly my Super Cub.

I want to get a small, slow-flying airplane that I can put a brushless motor on, that will be able to take off with very little space, and can go vertical, a plane I can just fly around and land in a small area like a back yard.

What I had in mind was something light weight, slow, but small, even a slow stick is kind of bigger than what I had in mind. I want the plane to have AILERONS!!! for sure. I want the plane to be maneuverable so I don't crash into trees and such.

I want something where I can use micro servos, a 10 to 18 amp ESC, and a small brushless motor. Something small and light weight that I can take anywhere and fly anywhere, except I realize wind will be a problem. That's OK, we hardly ever have windy days here. It is usually calm.

So, what would you suggest? I want small, stable, slow, BUT maneuverable, with ailerons and rudder, so we're talking a 4 channel plane here. Affordable is also a plus, but it doesn't have to be cheap, per se. Durable is good too, I kind of had EPP in mind, probably not balsa.

Any suggestions? Like maybe, a small EPP biplane or something? Please help me, I am new to the selection of planes out there.

I really need this plane for stress relief so that when I'm really stressed I can go in the yard and fly my plane a while!!!