HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 21, 2007, 07:06 AM
EZ flyer
Duga Resa, Croatia
Joined Jun 2006
64 Posts
Build Log
My first attemt at DIY AP platform build - Jumbo-Stick

This is my very first attempt at building a model and I'm trying to create something between a SlowStick and a EZ*-like glider. I don't like SlowStick's inability to fly in any moderate wind so I decided to make wings with increased aspect ratio by enlarging the wing span while shortening the wing chord so the wing looks more like a glider. I didn't use the dihedral (SlowStick) nor folded wingtips (EasyStar) so I don't know what kind of roll stability can I expect as well as how will it perform in a stall/spin situation.

The wing is cut of styrofoam, strengthened with two balsa sticks and covered with foil. Two carbon-fiber tubes are built in each wing, they hold a short piece of thick steel wire which serves as a wing joint. Each wing is 1m long which gives total of 2m wingspan.

I planned to build stabilizers from depron but I visited a styrofoam factory and they gave us a piece (1m x 0.5m) of very strong and thin (10mm) styrofoam so that was used. Rudder and elevator are made of 3mm balsa ply.

Fuselage is made from light aluminium profile which has been perforated at the rear end to make it even lighter.

It has been test-flown (thrown) without the battery, motor and all the other electronics. We used a piece of wood instead to roughly balance it at estimated CG. It seems to glide very well and acts preety stable (what a pleasant surprise!).

It weights arround 900 grams now and expected weight with motor, esc, radio, batteries, servos and camera with it's mount is arround 1500 grams. Seems a lot, my preliminary calculations tells me it will take roughly 150 Watts of thrust power for this thing to fly. Will definitely use LiPos, don't know about which motor / prop to use yet.

It reminds of SlowStick but is significantly larger, so I choosed to name it "Jumbo-Stick".