HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 18, 2007, 03:22 AM
SDJ
Australia
Joined Feb 2007
139 Posts
Discussion
Build log My first RC boat.

Hi, just thought I would post a build log of my first scratch built boat, I am new to RC and had to learn about how to build as well as get pretty inventive!, I found that pens and textas make great air vents and ABS plastic welding rod hot formed around a beer bottle neck makes good railing. I also learnt that trying to pin and use rubber bands to hold bent balsa to the hull did not always work the way it should have. we also used to have a wind chime outside with 5 small diameter aluminium tubes, it now has only 3 I looked at a lot of plastic boats and ARF stuff and did not want a boat the same as 3000 other people, I dont know what it is about scatch building from plans but I enjoy it.

Crash boat you tube link
Miami crashboat model (0 min 45 sec)

Although the model goes well someone told me it would go better with different props, apparently I am using surface props if it aint broke, dont fix it is my motto.
SDJ is offline Find More Posts by SDJ
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 18, 2007, 04:22 AM
Dragon Slayer
Shelton,WA
Joined Nov 2004
1,839 Posts
SDJ:
Very good job for a first scratch build.
So what is you next project?
And welcome to the forum.
ropanach is offline Find More Posts by ropanach
Old Feb 18, 2007, 07:07 AM
Joined Jan 2007
595 Posts
boy you did an exelent job ...thanks for the photos...
larryg is offline Find More Posts by larryg
Old Feb 18, 2007, 07:11 AM
Joined Jan 2007
595 Posts
sdj what did you seal your hull with ?? its the orange stuff airplane covering or fiberglass cloth hard to tell in the pic.... i am new to building scratch so trying to lurne all the things i can ... thanks again
Old Feb 18, 2007, 11:58 AM
Grumpa Tom
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
23,268 Posts
Quote:
I am new to RC and had to learn about how to build as well