HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 12, 2007, 09:02 AM
Registered User
daveh's Avatar
Northwest Ohio
Joined Apr 2001
162 Posts
Discussion
Ram3

Anyone know when the Ram3 will be available? I sent an email about a week ago to Soaring Circuits, but didn't hear back. My email has had probs though, and I could have missed....

Have a Gambler+ about 90% completed

Thanks,
Dave
daveh is offline Find More Posts by daveh
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 12, 2007, 11:52 AM
Soaring Circuits
rcbrust's Avatar
Coopersburg, PA
Joined Sep 2001
1,935 Posts
Hi Dave,

Hmm, I don't think I missed any emails but if I did, I apologize.

Right now I'm in the process of laying out the pc board for the RAM3. I'm trying to get it as small as I can. Unfortunately, that darn "real" job keeps getting in the way. I'm trying to have it ready for the upcoming flying season.

I do have some RAM2's left if you're interested.

Thanks,
Randy
rcbrust is offline Find More Posts by rcbrust
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2007, 03:21 AM
Registered User
Chris Gibbs's Avatar
York, UK
Joined Oct 2005
326 Posts
Any news on the new specs/features for the RAM3 Randy?
Chris Gibbs is offline Find More Posts by Chris Gibbs
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2007, 05:40 AM
Soaring Circuits
rcbrust's Avatar
Coopersburg, PA
Joined Sep 2001
1,935 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Gibbs
Any news on the new specs/features for the RAM3 Randy?
The main differences will be size, weight, and memory. The memory is being doubled so you'll be able to record for about 18 hours at the 1 sample/sec rate. Like I mentioned above, I'm trying to get the size down as much as I can and still have it easily manufacturable. Should be about postage stamp size. I fly mainly hand launch so I want a nice small logging altimeter that I can tuck anywhere.

The power supply has been improved and will work down to about 3.15 volts so you'll be able to take advantage of almost all of the energy a single LiPo cell has to offer. The little 80mAh Lipo's will be available with the appropriate connector installed. These cells are really nice and will power the RAM3 for an afternoon of flying and only weigh a couple grams.

The lead is being replaced with a small connector and the unit will be supplied with a removable lead that can be plugged in for use with rx power, or you'll be able to plug a single LiPo cell directly into the RAM3 for stand-alone operation, similar to the RAM2L (see this post: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4538382).

I also fixed a small hardware quirk that made the RAM2 tricky to use with the Palm software. The guys who wrote the Palm app will be getting one of the prototypes to make sure that they interface cleanly. This will give users a nice inexpensive way to view flight profiles at the field since Palms can be picked up on eBay very cheaply and the Palm app is freeware.

Randy
rcbrust is offline Find More Posts by rcbrust
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2007, 06:32 AM
Registered User
Munich
Joined Apr 2004
206 Posts
Please, let me know what trick should I use to connect Palm to RAM2, I have installed the software for Paln, but did not manage to get it in work.

Thank you.
vitas is offline Find More Posts by vitas
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2007, 09:10 AM
Registered User
daveh's Avatar
Northwest Ohio
Joined Apr 2001
162 Posts
Hi Randy,

Thanks for getting back, 2 quick questions:
Will the ram 2 and ram 3 work with a 3 cell 400 nimh, and will the price of the ram3 be the same as the ram2?

Thanks again for getting back, I'm sure my screwy email was down when you replied earlier, have a good one!!

Dave
daveh is offline Find More Posts by daveh
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2007, 09:19 AM
Soaring Circuits
rcbrust's Avatar
Coopersburg, PA
Joined Sep 2001
1,935 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveh
Will the ram 2 and ram 3 work with a 3 cell 400 nimh, and will the price of the ram3 be the same as the ram2?
A 3 cell NiMH will work fine. 400mAh will power it for a long time.

The RAM3 will be the same price as the RAM2, $99.

Randy
rcbrust is offline Find More Posts by rcbrust
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2007, 09:34 AM
Registered User
daveh's Avatar
Northwest Ohio
Joined Apr 2001
162 Posts
Randy,

Awesome, I'll finish up my Gambler+, and wait patiently for the ram3.
Put me at the top of the list!!

Thanks,
Dave
daveh is offline Find More Posts by daveh
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2007, 09:53 AM
Soaring Circuits
rcbrust's Avatar
Coopersburg, PA
Joined Sep 2001
1,935 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitas
Please, let me know what trick should I use to connect Palm to RAM2, I have installed the software for Paln, but did not manage to get it in work.
PM sent.

Randy
rcbrust is offline Find More Posts by rcbrust
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2007, 01:20 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2003
1,297 Posts
The RAM2 works great and easily fits in my Gambler as well as my other DLGs. I use it nearly every time I go out.
Ray
kostuk is offline Find More Posts by kostuk
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2007, 09:16 AM
Life is Good!
Tank52's Avatar
Germany
Joined Apr 2005
1,200 Posts
Any updates on the RAM3 Altimeter?

Regards,
~Tank
Tank52 is offline Find More Posts by Tank52
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools