HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 28, 2002, 03:25 PM
SCCA, EAA, M.E.
USA, KY, Verona
Joined Nov 2001
3,078 Posts
Pilot history and first flight of my new FFX FW190

As a newbie, I bought the TM and loved it. Did all the mods, got tons of mileage out of it, but was ready to move up.

I bought the GWS Zero as soon as it came out (at the weak signals show in Toledo). Expecting the same great performance, I went on to great disappointment instead as I could never get it to fly (no slam to GWS, it just wasn't a fit for me after many attempts).

Thinking I still needed more trainer practice, I bought kind of an intermediate plane, the 42" Stick built Wattage Eindecker arf. This plane is a lot larger, nicely built and nice looking, a lot faster than the TM, will fly inverted, but is a bit underpowered and still no alerions.

After reading the thousands of ezone posts on Ken Manuels FFX 'Park Fighter' foamies, I finally bought one - a FW190. I have no building experience (since all previous 3 were arfs), and after the Zero fiasco, I was just to chicken to build it. Months past, and I was getting eager to fly something interesting again.

I finally got up the gumption, and built it up using 8cell 600 ae, a direct drive graupner s400 with builton speed controller, CAM 6x3 folding prop, GWS pico 4 channel reciever and hs55 servos for alerions and elevator.

Construction is a little unusual in that you use ultra light fiberglass cloth over foam cores and waterbased polyurethane as the 'epoxy'. It looked hard, but was surprisingly easy. If (When?) I build another one, it will go together very quickly.

I didn't finish painting yet for fear that it would end up in crumbs anyway, but it ended up at exactly 15oz auw.

I set the alerion and elevator at a little less than the recommended 3/16" travel and checked that all the controls were working smoothly.