Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jan 28, 2007, 01:22 AM
Joined Dec 2006
3 Posts
Discussion
Nitro in a 49 Chris Craft Racer

Hi, Newbie here. I have a 49 Racer I'm building, and am curious if anyone has put a nitro motor in one... I am currently researching a 2stoke motor, was also thinking of a 4stroke, but with a clutch, and possible electric start??? Any suggestions? Thx in advance.
Al B is offline Find More Posts by Al B
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 28, 2007, 08:28 AM
T-ride!, Co @ 9545' ASL
Joined Jan 2003
739 Posts
Al B, Most people usually go with an electric motor. No mess, no fuss and you get pretty sparkly performance. And you can put the model back on your shelf without it smelling up the whole house.

Having said that, if you really want to go nitro, I took a quick look and it looks like the smallest engine, I could find that would fit is this:

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXMMZ8&P=7

In a boat this small, there is no need or room for a clutch, or electric start. I don't think they make a 4-stroke marine engine this small.
RCheroske is offline Find More Posts by RCheroske
Old Jan 28, 2007, 09:47 AM
KC8WPF
Euclid, Ohio, United States
Joined Sep 2004
3,723 Posts
While it could be done, the only benefit would seem to be the noise and exhaust. Considering that the top speed at the recent straight away record event was set by an electric boat at nearly 141 mph, why would you want the nitro? Compare the Traxxas Nitro Vee at 25 mph and the Traxxas Villian (electric) at 30 moh - both have the same hull .
CG Bob is offline Find More Posts by CG Bob
Old Jan 28, 2007, 02:33 PM
Monterey Bay California
Joined Feb 2004
13,752 Posts
If that is the Dumas C*C, I wonder how the Sentra which is what the sub structure of the hull is made of would take the constant fuel bath from an IC motor?
Aerominded is offline Find More Posts by Aerominded
Old Jan 29, 2007, 10:50 AM
Is life for real?
Almere The Netherlands
Joined Sep 2006
1,320 Posts