HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 22, 2007, 11:37 PM
feel no remorse
youth must fly's Avatar
underground
Joined Jun 2004
1,184 Posts
Discussion
PC power supply need help

HI everybody!!!

I have this pc power supply from my old computer and i have read a couple of threads on this topic regarding the mods of this PS. I am planing on using it for my Hyperion EOS 5i charger along with a 7.4volt 1320mah poly pack.

Now i know certain people mentioned something about the 5volt power rail im really cluless about that electric stuff but i need some help on modifing it i did a little work but im somewhat confused.
In the picture you can see i have four black wires two red ones and two yellow ones. as i read in the other thread you have to solder two yellow ones together and 2black ones together to your charger wires but what is the purpose for the other 2black wires. And how do i know which black wires to join together?. plus the other 2red ones what do i do with those just leave them alone?.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=368639
This is the thread which i got it from

Tomm
youth must fly is offline Find More Posts by youth must fly
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 22, 2007, 11:53 PM
Registered User
Sydney, Oz.
Joined Mar 2006
441 Posts
First thing is it might not be the best idea to start fiddling with these things if you're not confident with electronics. There are lethal voltages inside that box and you'll want to be sure you're not doing anything wrong.
However....
All the black wires that come out are the same (and all the yellows are the same etc), so it dosn't matter which of the black wires you use for what.
So the black wires go to the black of your charge input, and the yellow wires go to the red of you charge input. Make sure any unused wires are well insulated, and that your black and yellow never touch each other. This may be all you have to do. Give it a try, do you have a voltmeter you can use to verify the output?
A lot of power supplies need a load on the 5v (and possibly 3.3v) in order to raise the output of the 12v output. For this you will need something like a 4.7ohm 10watt wirewound resistor, or maybe 2 in parallel. This should be placed across the 5v line (so joined to one red wire, and one black wire).
HPSOV is offline Find More Posts by HPSOV
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2007, 11:54 AM
feel no remorse
youth must fly's Avatar
underground
Joined Jun 2004
1,184 Posts
ok thanks for the info
youth must fly is offline Find More Posts by youth must fly
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2007, 08:11 PM
Registered User
USA, LA, Mandeville
Joined Feb 2005
885 Posts
http://web2.murraystate.edu/andy.bat...OWERSUPPLY.HTM

http://www.wikihow.com/Convert-a-Com...b-Power-Supply

http://rcbatteryclinic.com down at the bottom of the left menu

Keep in mind that there may be a couple of capacitors that can deliver a nasty shock if you touch them while they are charged up!
hew565 is offline Find More Posts by hew565
Last edited by hew565; Jan 23, 2007 at 08:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2007, 08:14 PM
Registered User
rchawks's Avatar
st joseph mo
Joined May 2004
2,086 Posts
...
rchawks is offline Find More Posts by rchawks
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2007, 07:22 PM
feel no remorse
youth must fly's Avatar
underground
Joined Jun 2004
1,184 Posts
ok guys i think this may be challange for me to modifyat this time with my limited knowledge in electronics so i have decided to buy a power supply from radioshack.

Will this work with the hyperion EOS 5i charger
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...entPage=search

Thanks Tomm
youth must fly is offline Find More Posts by youth must fly
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2007, 07:50 PM
Registered User
USA
Joined Jan 2002
4,550 Posts
Tomm go to eBay and search on "Astron power supply" w/o the quotes. This will give you an idea of what's available. These are what the amateur radio operators use to power their ham gear and they are perfect for our application. The radio shack unit seems a little expensive for it's size (amp capacity). Let me know if you have any questions. A purpose built power supply is really the way to go.
Ohmic is online now Find More Posts by Ohmic
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2007, 07:55 PM
Registered User
rchawks's Avatar
st joseph mo
Joined May 2004
2,086 Posts
Here's what I'm using, it's also a pwr supply for a computer and only cost about 35 dollars.
rchawks is offline Find More Posts by rchawks
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2007, 08:01 PM
Registered User
ebill3's Avatar
United States, WA, Puyallup
Joined Oct 2004
5,965 Posts
That Radio Shack power supply is rated at 3 amps and it is adequate to charge 2S 1329 mAh pack with the EOS 5i.

Bill
ebill3 is offline Find More Posts by ebill3
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2007, 09:24 PM
Si Vis Pacem Para Bellum!
Doubletap's Avatar
PRC (People's Republic of Commiefornia)
Joined Jul 2005
9,602 Posts
Here's one:

http://www.lightflightrc.com/HTML/pr...PWR-12V12A.htm

Home Page: http://www.lightflightrc.com/
Doubletap is offline Find More Posts by Doubletap
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2007, 09:36 PM
Registered User
Phoenix, AZ
Joined Dec 2002
93 Posts
http://reckerclub.tripod.com/id105.html

Thats what I did, got the power supply for free after rebate. Seems to work great!
rcman4life is offline Find More Posts by rcman4life
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2007, 09:59 PM
Registered User
USA
Joined Jan 2002
4,550 Posts
Here's a good example of an Astron 7A supply that just sold for less than $16 on eBay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Astron-SL-10MR-P...QQcmdZViewItem
Ohmic is online now Find More Posts by Ohmic
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2007, 10:00 PM
Registered User
USA
Joined Jan 2002
4,550 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rchawks
Here's what I'm using, it's also a pwr supply for a computer and only cost about 35 dollars.
Those exposed terminals look like an accident waiting to happen.
Ohmic is online now Find More Posts by Ohmic
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2007, 05:40 AM
Registered User
rchawks's Avatar
st joseph mo
Joined May 2004
2,086 Posts
Much less so than using lypos! I'm sure that will be a popular statement!! lol I have used a divider box just for this. But sitting on my charge table I'm very careful not to bump it. I should install another divider plate, you're right.
rchawks is offline Find More Posts by rchawks
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2007, 10:36 AM
feel no remorse
youth must fly's Avatar
underground
Joined Jun 2004
1,184 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteB
Here's a good example of an Astron 7A supply that just sold for less than $16 on eBay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Astron-SL-10MR-P...QQcmdZViewItem

Thats exactly the one i looked at but havent bought it

Ebay sure does have a long list for these "Astron power supllies" i will be on the look out for one

What kind would you recomend for my charger in terms of amp
not sure if i said that right

Thanks for all the links guys

Tomm
youth must fly is offline Find More Posts by youth must fly
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Idea Mod 12VDC 32Amp Power Supply : Need Help! RockDragon Batteries and Chargers 138 Apr 20, 2014 05:14 PM
Need Help with a PC Power Supply, pictures attached. ferradas Power Systems 23 Oct 03, 2007 08:04 AM
Got a new 2.5amp wall Power Supply, Need Help! Suntzu Batteries and Chargers 24 Dec 15, 2004 04:51 PM
2 charger with 1 power supply..need help VR6 Batteries and Chargers 2 Sep 04, 2003 11:33 AM
Help on 12v PC power supply Cloud_Dancer Modeling Science 0 Aug 08, 2002 02:26 AM