SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 21, 2007, 06:29 AM
Kiss the Sky
electriceye's Avatar
Dorking, Surrey, UK
Joined Jul 2006
2,862 Posts
Discussion
Concern over TX Crystal

I have just upgraded from a Futabe Skysport 6 TX to a 6EXA-PCM TX. It came without crytal. I bought a pair o matching TX & RX crystal on Ch 69, but just read this on a post on this site:

"You should never change the TX crystal without getting the TX retuned... It may work... but it can cause the TX to be off far enough to cause problems."

As I have no idea of the orignal crystal channel I am cncerned I will have problems? Is changing crystals a potential problem?
electriceye is offline Find More Posts by electriceye
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 21, 2007, 07:54 AM
RIP Ric
Andy W's Avatar
Marietta, GA
Joined Jun 1999
43,312 Posts
Yes, assuming you're in the US on 72MHz. The transmitter should be tuned at an authorized service center to the appropriate frequency to match the new crystal.

If you're outside the US, I believe it's common practice to switch channels by changing Tx crystals. No need to fire up the debate again, that's just the way it is..
..a
Andy W is offline Find More Posts by Andy W
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 08:03 AM
Registered User
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,429 Posts
Since your location puts you in the UK I'd say you're fine. We swap Tx crystals all the time without "retuning". Anyway since UK Txs are normally centre-tuned and Ch 69 is almost in the middle of the 35MHz band (55-90) it's very unlikely that you'd have any tuning problems.

Assuming you bought the correct Futaba crystals you just need to do a full range check with a suitable Futaba Rx and provided it passes all is o.k.

Steve
slipstick is offline Find More Posts by slipstick
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 08:43 AM
Registered User
vintage1's Avatar
East Anglia, UK
Joined Sep 2002
29,703 Posts
Yup. Its fine. Most futaba kit comes with channel 64 stuff and is broadly tined to that..but the requirements here are not so stringent as the USA diue to the fact we use 35Mhz and there isn't much else on the band to get mucked up.

If you want a load of Ch64 xtals, I have loads..Tx and RX.
vintage1 is offline Find More Posts by vintage1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB-#20 or #30 TX.crystal for Hitec Focus III AM speedo Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Mar 19, 2002 07:34 PM
Where is the Cheapest place to get a TX Crystal. mrebman Parkflyers 16 Dec 16, 2001 01:30 PM
Need to Buy: Futaba/Hitec Tx Crystal on Channel 41 or 27 Jamie- Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Nov 02, 2001 09:52 AM
Tx crystal swapping illegle-- is that really so? fregon45 Power Systems 10 Aug 01, 2001 04:58 AM
Futaba TX crystal module swap ? johntbyrne Power Systems 6 Jul 22, 2001 06:22 AM