HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 20, 2007, 10:07 AM
Pensacola, FL, USA
Joined Dec 2000
3,235 Posts
Discussion
So where is DIY actuator winding today?

Have read all the terrific ground work done by Graham, Dave, Gordon, Jochen, Michel, Ralph, Billy and others. Thanks you guys for sharing all that development. So, now where are we? Are you guys still winding coils? I hope so. I like the BIRD type to get away from the linkage. The lost wax/ fingernail polish looks like the last maybe best input. One guy says use page motors, but I don't understand that. Would appreciate any comments before I start.
Thanks,
John255
John255 is offline Find More Posts by John255
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 20, 2007, 10:43 AM
Inventor
Sweden, Gothenburg
Joined Mar 2005
179 Posts
Hi John!

Ive made some coils today. For RTF AeroAce.. as an rudder actuator

/Daniel

(Im no pro, I just do this for fun, to lern etc.)
conversion is offline Find More Posts by conversion
Last edited by conversion; Jan 20, 2007 at 01:27 PM.
Old Jan 20, 2007, 12:20 PM
Gravity is a harsh mistress.
United States, MI, Temperance
Joined Sep 2002
6,541 Posts
If you are looking to purchase actuators, I'll recomend anything epliot winds. The Micro Invent actuators also look great and are terminated properly. Beware of coils that lack solder points for leads, when you break a wire at the coil surface, you are basically screwed.

Remote actuators with linkages help balance the model. Coils and magnents are a lot of weight in the tail.

BIRD and remote actuators each have their unique issues that the builder must overcome.
Tim Wolff is offline Find More Posts by Tim Wolff
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 20, 2007, 01:48 PM
Pensacola, FL, USA
Joined Dec 2000
3,235 Posts
Daniel,
Nice looking rig.
The coil on the scale looks like it is on a bobbin anf the one in your hand is different. Which do you perfer? What glue are you using to bond the winds?

Tim,