HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 19, 2007, 02:51 PM
Spokane Washington
Joined Nov 2002
761 Posts
Discussion
A123 Systems and MaxAmps

Just a heads up that we have jumped on the A123 band wagon. In addition to our normal products we now have all the A123 packs available.

We can do pretty much anything you want from the configuration, number of cells, plug, taps, and wire. The are now on the website so you can check them out. We are building all the packs here in house so they will be very fresh cells and very high quality packs.

-Austin
www.MaxAmps.com
austinelse is offline Find More Posts by austinelse
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 19, 2007, 08:46 PM
just look at it smokin'
z-matrix's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
1,233 Posts
Austin,
cool.
z-matrix is offline Find More Posts by z-matrix
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 12:30 PM
Giz
Tony Rogers
Giz's Avatar
Bath, UK
Joined Sep 2003
2,196 Posts
Hi Austin,

Good to see another option for a123s.

When you build a123 packs, what kind of tabs do you use? The Dewalt packs come with pretty heavy duty steel tabs that seem to be able to take high currents. Do your tabs match the current carrying capability of the cells?
Giz is offline Find More Posts by Giz
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 12:38 PM
Spokane Washington
Joined Nov 2002
761 Posts
We are using the same ones that A123 is using. They are very thick. They are the same ones that come in the developer kits.

-Austin
austinelse is offline Find More Posts by austinelse
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 12:40 PM
Registered User
rdespins's Avatar
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Joined Jan 2004
552 Posts
Why is 12 Ga wire an option? At these current levels it should be minimum. I'd want 10Ga if at all possible.

Ron
rdespins is offline Find More Posts by rdespins
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 12:59 PM
Spokane Washington
Joined Nov 2002
761 Posts
Ron,

Some people will not be using the cells at the higher levels. That is why we have the 14 awg and 12 awg. We can also do 10 awg on special request. I will have to get some 10 awg in stock...

-Austin
austinelse is offline Find More Posts by austinelse
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 01:11 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,839 Posts
Before beimg to concerned with wire gauge read this.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...1&postcount=18

Quote:
In the 6-cell pack that I constructed, there are 5 buss bars that connect the pack together. If each buss bar measures 0.763 milliohms, the total resistance of the buss bars is 5 times that value, which equals 3.815 milliohms. That is the equivilent resistance of almost 3 feet of 12 AWG wire!

Lucien
everydayflyer is offline Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 02:26 PM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
18,060 Posts
What are some balancer options for these packs?
RC Man is offline Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 06:49 PM
OFF TOPIC POSTER
Des Moines IA
Joined Dec 2005
4,840 Posts
Do i need a seperate bec if I get a 4s1p pack of a123s
eckace1 is offline Find More Posts by eckace1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 07:16 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,839 Posts
Depending on the amp. load the voltage most likely will be greater that a 3S LiPoly so the BEC ( 5 volt rwgulator) would have to drop more volts and will run hotter.
It really depends on the number ,size type of servos ,type of aircraft and how the aircraft is flown.


http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showa...mentid=1026328

Be warned that when A123 pack dumps it dumps big time. No power drop till there is no juice left.

Charles
everydayflyer is offline Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Last edited by everydayflyer; Jan 20, 2007 at 09:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2007, 08:37 PM
OFF TOPIC POSTER
Des Moines IA
Joined Dec 2005
4,840 Posts
Thanks Charles I was planning on using them in my wing as i just won a dewalt on ebay for $96. Im running a microdans speed 2505 cc35 and hs55s , apc 5.5x4.5 prop I am using 3s1p2100s but they dont like the ampdraw and ive tried a bunch af diff man. and havent had very good luck with any of them. Robert
eckace1 is offline Find More Posts by eckace1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 05:26 AM
Permanently Banned
Larry3215's Avatar
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Joined Sep 2003
8,434 Posts
Will you do balancer tap plugs from all the different mfg's - TP, Hyperion, FMA etc?

Larry
Larry3215 is offline Find More Posts by Larry3215
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 07:50 AM
JAM
MaxAmps CMO
JAM's Avatar
Nine Mile Falls, WA
Joined Jun 2004
4,402 Posts
Larry when I spoke with Austin last week, he said that was going to work on a balancer tap for them........and it should have about the same options as the current taps. I will call him first part of the week and get an updated list of balancer tap connectors and post them here.


Jason
Maxamps Crew Member
jammaxamps@earthlink.net
www.maxamps.com
JAM is offline Find More Posts by JAM
Last edited by JAM; Jan 21, 2007 at 08:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 02:16 PM
Registered User
Madrid (Spain)
Joined Oct 2004
484 Posts
Austin, congratulations from one of the early A123 users. Nice cells you'll see, well, you'll see by your customers.
As far as tabs are concerned, in his day I decided to go with no-tab packs, and my packs have well over 50 cycles now and had no unbalancing issues so far. But I never go much down on discharges. It is not wise to go to "dead stick", glow guys do not do it guys... and as Charles warned these cells cut really quick: ten seconds after you feel there is not much juice... there is not a drop.
So to me balancing is not a big issue, and there are no possible fireworks to be affraid of here. But if I was to make packs for other people, then maybe I will let this option open...
Regards
Josep
armengol is offline Find More Posts by armengol
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2007, 02:23 PM
Spokane Washington
Joined Nov 2002
761 Posts
Thanks Josep!

As far as tap options go. It will be just like our lipos. We will have the standard taps as the Hyperion/Apache/Polyquest white plug. The TP taps are optional. We also have a few others like the astroflight type and the FMA type available upon request.

We are trying to give you all the options to choose for yourself including the configuration. Since we build them all here in house, it makes it easier for us to do custom work.

Till we get a good idea of the most common setups, we are only listing 2-8S packs on the site. We can build anything you want if you give us a call or drop us an email.

-Austin
austinelse is offline Find More Posts by austinelse
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion A123 Systems and their sales policy Crashaholic Batteries and Chargers 19 Apr 24, 2007 09:01 PM
Data A123 Systems Li-Ion, CBA+10X Amp. Graphs RD Blakeslee Batteries and Chargers 62 Sep 08, 2006 08:52 AM
EXTREME Nanoscale Lithium-Ion from A123 Systems ScottChase Batteries and Chargers 57 Mar 06, 2006 04:47 PM
A123 systems sjslhill Batteries and Chargers 1 Nov 05, 2005 03:11 PM