HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 11, 2007, 03:58 PM
Chantilly, VA
Joined Dec 2006
213 Posts
Discussion
Beginner Evolution: From RTF to Scratch

This is my first post in what I hope turns into a series of successful build stories. I really can't say what started this, but once my train of thought got going, it was hard to stop!

My objective is to build an aerial platform from scratch. I have no aerospace background, but I am an engineer so I hope to use systematic and logical methodology in my various development phases. I've been building plastic models off and on (more off than on) for the past thirty years, but my woodworking skills are fairly green.

At first I thought I'd find a discussion site like this, get some ideas, and start carving up balsa. After all, some of advice from the "old school" thinking was to "get to know" your first plane by building it from scratch.

However, I also read a lot of anecdotes where folks spent months working on their planes only to wreck them seconds into the first flight. I could see myself doing that quite easily--and getting a little bit frustrated.

So I subscribed to another, more deliberate path, where I would learn how to fly with an RTF while building my first kit in parallel.

Phase 1: Learning to Fly
Phase 2: Learning to Build
Phase 3: Learning to Design

I found the following links helpful:
Almost all my search results turned up at least one good AEAJR post
Good compilation of Beginner FAQs
Got me thinking about objective criteria for selecting first plane
Good info on tools, the work area, and scratch technique
Post read early in research that inspired me combining build with aerial photography

This thread will be a work in progress, and I'll be adding more links as time goes by. Hope you all find it helpful or interesting!
Controlled Fall is offline Find More Posts by Controlled Fall
Last edited by Controlled Fall; Jan 28, 2007 at 03:52 PM. Reason: Added link
to remove ads between posts