HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 08, 2007, 11:31 PM
Joined Jun 2006
127 Posts
Question
Why, EDF's power seem to be measure for Watts?

I am somewhat new to EDF, just got a Het F-18 couple of weeks ago. Flys sweet. What I want to ask is, why everyone seem to measure how fast, how powerful by how many watts a power system pulls. Isn't it more correct to measure how many grams, ounce of thrust is actually produce, rather than how many watts is used?
I thought if a EDF have an efficient motor and ducting and duct fan can produce the same amount of thrust at a lower wattage than as system with less effecient motor, ducting and Duct fan system at a higher wattage?
jascamera is offline Find More Posts by jascamera
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 08, 2007, 11:52 PM
Bakersfield, Ca
Joined Nov 2004
274 Posts
Alot of guys are running similar systems on the F-18, therefore know how each system performes. You're right about power to weight ratio an effeciency, but most measure watts just to get a ballpark figure .
roadhogtri is offline Find More Posts by roadhogtri
Old Jan 09, 2007, 12:51 AM
Pittsburgh,PA.,USA
Joined Mar 2006
22 Posts
Watts is a measure of Power, more power the faster the fan turns, making more thrust & speed.
Efficiency in motor means it will run longer not faster
" in ducting means it will make more thrust on less power (watts)
Light weight means it will accelerate quicker, not go faster

Bottom line is more watts (power) is faster
Richie Simpson is offline Find More Posts by Richie Simpson
Old Jan 09, 2007, 02:08 AM
Suspended Account
Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2004
1,836 Posts
We measure mainly in watts cus we are lazy... and also cus that's what the watt meter reads in,,, Watts......

Gene
kriptonic is offline Find More Posts by kriptonic
Old Jan 09, 2007, 04:55 AM
Stilwell Shipyard
United States, FL, Cape Coral
Joined Nov 2003
2,100 Posts