HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 01, 2007, 11:39 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
110 Posts
Discussion
Can I Use the Berg 7 Receiver with a JR XP6102

Hi All,

Don't know anything technical about the new berg, but can I use it with my JR XP6102 radio?

I've read that the berg is not PCM...My radio is SPCM and I beleive I can switch it to use PPM....

Other than buying the micro crystal, will ths receiver work?

newpatch
newpatch is offline Find More Posts by newpatch
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 01, 2007, 11:52 AM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,011 Posts
What does it mean – SPCM?
RC Man is offline Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2007, 11:59 AM
FPV Enthusiast
martinic's Avatar
New Brunswick, Canada
Joined Nov 2004
1,846 Posts
It'll work fine in the PPM mode.
martinic is offline Find More Posts by martinic
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2007, 12:18 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
110 Posts
I don't know what SPCM is....That' what is says on my radio display. I guess it's JR's proprietary PCM modulation or something...

Any issues with the berg?

newpatch
newpatch is offline Find More Posts by newpatch
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2007, 12:18 PM
Registered User
muda's Avatar
Lt
Joined Mar 2006
177 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Man
What does it mean – SPCM?

I think while futaba call it pcm, JR call it spcm. But ican go wrong.
muda is offline Find More Posts by muda
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2007, 01:49 PM
FPV Enthusiast
martinic's Avatar
New Brunswick, Canada
Joined Nov 2004
1,846 Posts
Found this on the JR website:

Quote:
What is the difference between SPCM and ZPCM?
PCM stands for Pulse Code Modulation. ZPCM has a lower resolution than SPCM. Resolution refers to how many steps a servo takes in its rotation. ZPCM uses 512 and SPCM uses 1024, resolutions which results in greater servo accuracy.
Both SPCM and ZPCM are JR implementations of PCM. SPCM is their newer, higher resolution offering.
martinic is offline Find More Posts by martinic
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2007, 12:51 AM
Our Daddy and Heli Junkie
Fred Bronk's Avatar
In Heli Wonderland
Joined Aug 1999
22,774 Posts
The Berg 7 is basically a poor mans PCM RX and it will work on any PPM/FM TX made today.

It will not work with the TXs PCM, but has its own system they call (TDSP) True Digital Signal Processing

If signal is lost, the RX will stay where it was until it has a new signal only from the same TX. It locks to the TX output (TSR) Transmiter Signal Recognition

You can also set the RX to go to a preset setting, just like PCM. This can be turned of and on.The TX signal recognition cannot.

You can also assign any channel to any RX port.

FB
Fred Bronk is offline Find More Posts by Fred Bronk
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2007, 05:26 AM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,011 Posts
I am going to try one on my E620 as an alternative to my usual Futaba PCM setup. I hope it’s up to the task.

Has anyone tried a Berg-7 in a large helicopter?

RC
RC Man is offline Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2007, 08:01 AM
Lifetime hobby
rhenningsen's Avatar
Bend, Oregon, USA
Joined Feb 2004
144 Posts
Size really doesn't matter in this case. I switched to the Berg 7 in my Corona (from fma fx5) and it has been flawless. It is 100% programmable making it a very flexible receiver. Less electrical interference too.
bob
rhenningsen is offline Find More Posts by rhenningsen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2007, 10:00 AM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,011 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhenningsen
Size really doesn't matter in this case. I switched to the Berg 7 in my Corona (from fma fx5) and it has been flawless. It is 100% programmable making it a very flexible receiver. Less electrical interference too.
bob
Not really sure about that – I always assumed that large helicopters with high voltage and high current power systems made a lot more RF noise that small helicopters. Is this true?

RC
RC Man is offline Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2007, 10:14 AM
Our Daddy and Heli Junkie
Fred Bronk's Avatar
In Heli Wonderland
Joined Aug 1999
22,774 Posts
A friend and I are running the Berg 7 in our Swifts now. His is a 6s, mine is 4s and both had a little glitch problem with the Hitec Electron 6.

Both are solid as a rock now after many flights.

FB
Fred Bronk is offline Find More Posts by Fred Bronk
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2007, 10:26 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
110 Posts
Hi Fred,

How did you fix the little glitch, and what caused it?

I also have a glitch in my logo 10, hence the interest in the berg.

newpatch
newpatch is offline Find More Posts by newpatch
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2007, 10:45 AM
Motor Maniac
Orange County, CA
Joined Feb 2002
2,874 Posts
Newpatch, I think Fred is saying that the switch to the Berg is what fixed the glitching. I'm a big Berg fan, have been using them for years with great results. Still haven't bought a Berg 7 yet, but will when I build my next plane.
10Thumbs is offline Find More Posts by 10Thumbs
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2007, 12:22 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
110 Posts
10Thumbs,

Thanks!! Makes sense now...
newpatch is offline Find More Posts by newpatch
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 03, 2007, 01:26 AM
Our Daddy and Heli Junkie
Fred Bronk's Avatar
In Heli Wonderland
Joined Aug 1999
22,774 Posts
I have always been a Berg fan from way back. Besides Peter being a nice guy he makes a great RX!!

The setup I used has been used many times and just could not get rid of the glitch. Yes it is better to find the glitch and fix it but the Berg did all I needed.

FB
Fred Bronk is offline Find More Posts by Fred Bronk
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Can I use one cell LiPo with Berg 4ch ? ktoey Radios 1 Apr 30, 2007 11:03 AM
Sold FS: NEW Berg 7 receiver with CH48 chrystal only $50 shipped evoIX Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Apr 02, 2007 11:13 PM
Discussion Can I use Berg MS4L receiver with FUTABA T14MZ (PCMG3 2048) 72MHZ Transmitter? sung_ch Radios 1 Jun 05, 2006 08:10 AM
Question Can i use any brand of Receiver with a Hitec TX ? martin_uk Radios 5 Jul 21, 2005 06:35 PM
use your gws receiver with jr tran mod. RiggerTCM Micro Helis 3 Jun 13, 2004 02:53 PM