HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 29, 2006, 12:45 AM
cousin Dave
Huntsville, Alabama
Joined Nov 2002
1,607 Posts
Discussion
Home Depo Foam Dow 150 Pink Foam

Can someone tell me the good vs bad atributes of this "over the counter" foam that I can purchase at Home Depo? Dow 150 pink foam. I can get it in 2 inch or 1 inch thick sheets. I'm interested in Thermal Duration wings of 3 meters. how does it compare to the Hiload 60 foam? Is it the poor mans foam? I'd like a winch proof wing, but I'd settle for something less for the convience of purchasing the foam locally.

Here are some test specimens I cut from the pink foam.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=395

Thanks,
Dave
GLIDERGIDER is offline Find More Posts by GLIDERGIDER
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 29, 2006, 01:00 AM
Portland Intl, Oregon, United States
Joined Jul 2003
1,151 Posts
I am no expert on foams but I can tell you that I have built several wings with 150 but none of them were near that large. It was all I could get at the time too.
the 150 means it is rated at 15 pounds per square inch compresion strength. 250 is 25 psi/sq in and so on. HiLoad 60 is just that, 60 pounds per square inch.
Higher load rating will yeild a stronger/stiffer wing. Of course skin thickness will play a large roll in how strong the wing is as well.
I dont know much at all about spars but I assume that 3 meter wings would require a pretty beefy spar no matter what kind of foam is used.

As far as cutting goes it cuts pretty much just the same as 250 or HL60 does.

sorry I dont know much more, I hope some guys with more technical knowlege will
help out as well.

TIM
A6INTRUDER is offline Find More Posts by A6INTRUDER
Old Dec 29, 2006, 11:18 AM
Germantown, Maryland
Joined Apr 2004
4,511 Posts