SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 24, 2006, 05:56 AM
Proud member of LISF and ESL
LI, New York, USA
Joined Mar 2003
24,526 Posts
Discussion
How are you handling the issue of LiPo balancing taps

I would like to see how the community is handling the issue of balancing tap compatibility.

I have been using Lipos for a couple of years but have been using a Triton Charger to charge them. Most are two cell packs so the balancing issue is a bit less with only two cells, however I am certain I will still benefit from a balancing charger. And, I have some 3 cell packs ready to go. All have been CellPro balancing tap based. Time to get a balancing charger.

I asked Santa for a Cell Pro 4S charger as several friends have this charger and seem to be happy with it.
http://www.fmadirect.com/products.htm?cat=45&nid=4

However, I have learned that FMADirect has discontinued their Cell Pro lithium pack series. If Santa brings the charger I am not sure if I will keep it or return it since I can't get packs from them anymore. FMA does make adapters but I am not sure I want to deal with the expense and the chance of miss connecting a balancing tap and blowing a pack.

Here is the question:
For my benefit and the benefit of the community, tell us how have you been dealing with the issue of balancing tap compatibility?

Do you stick to the brand of pack that matches your charger?

Are you soldering on new taps to your packs?

In my case, are there other lithium pack makers that use the CellPro balancing plug standard?

I am interested in how the community is dealing with this issue.
aeajr is offline Find More Posts by aeajr
Last edited by aeajr; Dec 24, 2006 at 06:04 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 24, 2006, 06:37 AM
Indiana
Joined Jul 2003
1,064 Posts
I use an Astro Blinky. With the TP adapter if needed. That combo covers everything i have. [polyquest, TP, Vampower, 2 dog, twenty]
icrashrc is offline Find More Posts by icrashrc