HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 16, 2006, 04:09 PM
No warning points today!!
Hixson, TN
Joined May 2005
645 Posts
Discussion
How do you install CA hinges?

I just went on a small shopping spree at the LHS preparing for the 2 planes I'm going to be assembling this Christmas. I got me some FoamSafe CA (that stuff is more expensive then I thought), some 5 minute epoxy, and some CA hinges.

The CA hinges will be going on an HL Yak-55 and an HL Pitts S-2, but I have never used hinges before. So my question is, how do you install them? Is medium CA ok for putting them in, because all I have is medium but it says to use thin...ANY help is greatly appreciated.

P.S. I've got a sim sitting under the tree...I want to open it really badly.
flyingace451 is offline Find More Posts by flyingace451
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 16, 2006, 04:17 PM
Chris Khosravi - KK4LJH
United States, GA, Atlanta
Joined Jul 2004
873 Posts
for foam planes you should use tape. Packaging tap works pretty good. it would be very hard to hing a foamy since the foam is only like 3-6 mm thick
Khosravi is offline Find More Posts by Khosravi
Old Dec 16, 2006, 04:20 PM
St. Peters MO.
Joined Apr 2005
67 Posts
You dont use CA Hinges on these planes. You tape the controle surfaces on with a good clear packing tape
DOZZ is offline Find More Posts by DOZZ
Old Dec 16, 2006, 05:09 PM
No warning points today!!
Hixson, TN
Joined May 2005
645 Posts
Ah ok, I thought I'd get rid of the packing tape I've used because I thought no one else really did it. I guess I was wrong, so I'll hang onto the hinges for something else I guess. Thanks for the advice everyone, they were only $3 anyway! ...Can I open my presents now? *NO*....drats.
flyingace451 is offline Find More Posts by flyingace451
Old Dec 16, 2006, 05:13 PM
TP 1.21 Gigawatt Needed
Hendersonville, NC
Joined Jul 2005
1,103 Posts
I've used CA hinges on the same Yal with great success! Used medium CA.