Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 28, 2001, 06:41 PM
D.G.B.
Southington, Connecticut, United States
Joined Jun 2000
2,951 Posts
Which is a good receiver for the .40 to .60 size e-plane conversions???

I never had really shopped for a lite weight receiver and just thought i'd ask What's everybody is useing??.I have a fma tetra in my twin star.i also use a fma fortress for a test receiver but never have checked the weight.thanxs for your help.stefanP
KOMET 44 is offline Find More Posts by KOMET 44
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 28, 2001, 06:56 PM
Ascended Master
Palmdale, CA
Joined Oct 2000
13,343 Posts
It's probably difficult to find a better small receiver than the RCD/Hitec 555.
Sparky Paul
PJB's Seriously Aeronautical Stuff
Sparky Paul is offline Find More Posts by Sparky Paul
RCG Plus Member
Old Jul 28, 2001, 09:10 PM
Pine Bluff,AR,USA
Joined May 2001
94 Posts
Nothing beats a JR. I am a glow heli pilot mainly and they are harder on RX's due to vibrationa nd etc. than anything out there. A JR is the creme of the crop. Futaba's are not as good and Hitec's are fine, but lack the refinement of a JR. JR does cost a bit more I admit, but as the old saying goes, the good things are cheap and the cheap things aren't good. I do hear great things about the Multiplex RX's though. Their PPD RX's that are half PPM(FM) and half PCM. You set your TX to transmit in PPM and the RX still has pre-set hold points like a PCM does.
TopGun is offline Find More Posts by TopGun
Old Jul 28, 2001, 10:01 PM
Folsom,Ca,USA
Joined Apr 2001
992 Posts
Agree with Topgun

I fly both Jr and Hitec. Favorite, due to years of reliable flight, is Hitec Supreme.
Great reliablility, 8 channels etc.

Price is right, excellent reliable erformance

Standard for Eflight seems to be the Hitec 555

DaveW is offline Find More Posts by DaveW
Old Jul 28, 2001, 11:24 PM
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States
Joined Nov 2000
6,275 Posts