SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 10, 2006, 11:16 PM
Joined Nov 2006
37 Posts
Discussion
My issue with my remote

I am using a Scorpion hydroplane and i think there is a problem with the remote or something. When I have the little slider for the throttle all the way at the bottom and move the actual control, it turns on below the center point. I'm no expert but, isn't the slider supposed to control the sensitivity so that when you have it at it's lowest then it will just decrease the sensitivity? Not have it go below or something.

Also on the same control.. when I move the rudder sensitivity all the way to the right, the rudder is centered and while it is at the full right position I then move the control to the right and it doesn't go all the way to the right as it does go all the way to the left.

This is how it is out of the box.

Any help would be much appreciative. Thanks
OblivionLord is offline Find More Posts by OblivionLord
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 10, 2006, 11:24 PM
Ascended Master
Palmdale, CA
Joined Oct 2000
13,499 Posts
The sliders (trims) on the controls adjust the control positions... not the sensitivity.
For the throttle, the trim is used to set a cut-off point for the motor. IC motors usually the position is 1/2 way up on the trim motion for the lowest idle with the throttle all the way down.
Pulling the trim all the way down then shuts off the motor.
With electrics this isn't that big a deal.
For the control surfaces, the surface should move the same amount each side of neutral, and the trim should move the same equal amounts.
If this doesn't happen, then possibly the servo arm isn't on the servo at the correct orientation with the pushrod to the surface.
Set the trim at neutral, remove the control arm from the servo, and turn the radio on.
This electrically centers the servo. Then attach the servo arm to the servo, with the pushrod coming off it at 90 degrees, back to the surface. Like this..