HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 03, 2006, 11:21 PM
billpa's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
4,935 Posts
Discussion
Brushless RPM Sensor/Tach from Eagle Tree Systems, LLC

Brushless Motor RPM Sensor from Eagle Tree Systems, LLC

Eagle Tree Systems is pleased to announce our innovative new Brushless Electric Motor RPM Sensor/Tachometer. Our Brushless RPM sensor makes it extremely easy to measure RPM with any of our Eagle Tree data systems.



To measure RPM on your brushless electric Plane, Heli, Car or Boat, just tap one wire from our tiny new sensor into one motor lead, enter motor parameters in our software, and you are ready to go!

The Brushless RPM Sensor is compatible with our MicroPower, PowerPanel, Seagull and Data Recorder products, and will be shipping to our dealers and customers on approximately December 14, 2006 (just in time for Christmas)! Preorder yours today!



See your Dealer, visit our site at http://www.eagletreesystems.com or email sales@eagletreesystems.com for more information.



Note: Using the Brushless RPM Sensor with our Seagull and Data Recorder products requires firmware level 4.XX or higher, which has been shipping since approximately August, 2005. Click here for Upgrade Info (PDF).
billpa is offline Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 03, 2006, 11:23 PM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
16,750 Posts
Cool product.
I notice there are two leads , motor 1 and motor 2.
Can you measure two motors with this, or do you need to hook up to two phases?
Pat Mackenzie
pmackenzie is offline Find More Posts by pmackenzie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2006, 12:31 AM
Permanently Banned
Larry3215's Avatar
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Joined Sep 2003
8,434 Posts
Cool idea!

Good question Pat!

Larry
Larry3215 is offline Find More Posts by Larry3215
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2006, 02:15 AM
Registered User
United States, CA
Joined Dec 2001
416 Posts
Quote:
....just tap one wire from our tiny new sensor into one motor lead....
Can the sensor wire just be soldered or clipped to a spot of bare motor lead anywhere along the lead?

Could the sensor have any load/timing/phasing effect on the ESC, or otherwise affect system performance?


Quote:
....enter motor parameters in our software....
What are those parameters?

Will the accuracy of measured rpm's be affected by the accuracy of the input values?
green66 is offline Find More Posts by green66
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2006, 08:27 PM
billpa's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
4,935 Posts
Hi All,

Thanks for the feedback.

Pat, for the large majority of motors, Motor 1 lead only need be attached. For some motor designs, both leads will be needed.

Green66, yes you can just solder or clip the sensor lead to the motor lead, anywhere along the lead. No, the sensor should have no affect on the ESC whatsoever. Of course, we recommend a ground check before flying after installing any new electronics.

The motor parameters are simply the # of motor poles (available from your motor mfg), and the gear ratio (normally 1.0 for planes). If one or both of these parameters is unknown, the simplest way to determine them is to run a test with a handheld tach, noting the max RPM. Then download logger data, calculate the % error, then adjust the input factor read the correct value.

Regards,

Bill, for Eagle Tree Systems, LLC
billpa is offline Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2006, 08:42 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,812 Posts
A few known Tach numbers or ones which work for me.

HiMax 2815 (14) Same as the number of magnets

Mega 16/7/6 (6)

Mamba Max 5700 (2) according to CC All of the Mamba motors (1/18th and 1/10th) are 2 pole slotless designs.

FYI I used servo leads (pigtails) on the ESC to Motor lead(s) and matching pigtail on the ET Tach expansion board so that it is very simple to move from on application to another.

Charles
everydayflyer is offline Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Last edited by everydayflyer; Dec 04, 2006 at 08:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2006, 09:32 PM
Registered User
Brisbane Australia
Joined Nov 2003
805 Posts
Bill,

went to place an order and noticed shipping to Australia was more than the cost of the sensor. Any idea when the local Australian suppliers will have stock?

Thanks

Michael
mjdoz is offline Find More Posts by mjdoz
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2006, 09:53 PM
Registered User
NW Victoria Australia
Joined Sep 2003
482 Posts
Who sells Eagletree in Aus ?

ExtremeRC but who else ?
Bthree is offline Find More Posts by Bthree
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2006, 11:46 PM
Registered User
Brisbane Australia
Joined Nov 2003
805 Posts
Wattsup as well.

also fast electrics http://www.fastelectrics.com/eagletree.asp

Not sure if anybody else. Try Google with "Australia only" selected

Michael
mjdoz is offline Find More Posts by mjdoz
Last edited by mjdoz; Dec 05, 2006 at 11:57 PM. Reason: Added another Aussie Source
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2006, 09:50 PM
so i rewired it...
xorbe's Avatar
Mountain View CA USA
Joined Jun 2006
898 Posts
How can I get this new RPM sensor sooner than later?
edit: Well I did the pre-order via ETS website...
xorbe is offline Find More Posts by xorbe
Last edited by xorbe; Dec 06, 2006 at 10:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 01:20 PM
so i rewired it...
xorbe's Avatar
Mountain View CA USA
Joined Jun 2006
898 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by billpa
The Brushless RPM Sensor is compatible with our MicroPower, PowerPanel, Seagull and Data Recorder products, and will be shipping to our dealers and customers on approximately December 14, 2006 (just in time for Christmas)!
Ding ding! Today is the 14th!
xorbe is offline Find More Posts by xorbe
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2006, 01:55 PM
billpa's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
4,935 Posts
Hi All,

We have been the unfortunate recipients of this:

http://www.komotv.com/news/4935976.html

We now have power back on, and are using cellphones for internet access.

The mail has started to run again, and we are supposed to receive the brushless expanders from the factory today, which means shipping starting tomorrow.

Sorry for the delay!

Regards,

Bill, for Eagle Tree Systems, LLC
billpa is offline Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2006, 02:26 AM
so i rewired it...
xorbe's Avatar
Mountain View CA USA
Joined Jun 2006
898 Posts
I have RPMs on my charts now!
Just one lead needed for JGF 500T 12-pole outrunner.

update: seems like my CC60 never goes all the way to 0 RPMs... stuck at ~4K minimum -- is this due to the active brake function? No big deal, because I'm interested in max RPMs at speed really.
xorbe is offline Find More Posts by xorbe
Last edited by xorbe; Dec 28, 2006 at 02:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2006, 03:50 PM
billpa's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
4,935 Posts
Hi Xorbe,

Great news!! Yes, I suspect the active brake is sending pulses to the motor to keep it still. Is it possible to briefly turn off the brake, to see if the pulses stop? We can do some things in firmware to detect/eliminate that if need be.

Regards,

Bill, for Eagle Tree
billpa is offline Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Brushless RPM Sensor/Tach from Eagle Tree Systems, LLC billpa Eagle Tree Systems 57 Apr 24, 2009 10:19 AM
Discussion Google Earth™ GPS Support from Eagle Tree Systems, LLC billpa Slope 0 Nov 26, 2006 01:40 PM
New Product Jet ECU Real-time Data from Eagle Tree Systems, LLC Dave Lauck Product Announcements 0 Mar 24, 2006 11:48 AM
MicroPower E-Logger from Eagle Tree Systems, LLC Dave Lauck Product Announcements 0 Dec 19, 2005 03:15 PM
Multiple RPM Sensor Support from Eagle Tree Systems, LLC Dave Lauck Product Announcements 1 Nov 09, 2005 12:39 AM