HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 02, 2006, 01:41 PM
USA, CA, Hayward
Joined May 2006
38 Posts
Question
BCX2 battery charge and tail drift questions

I am new to heli's (and LIPO's) and just picked up a CX2 a couple of days ago. The battery that came with it took about 1.5 hrs to charge the first time, but takes over 2 hours to charge after running it down. The charger that comes with it says it has a .65A output so would expect a full charge in about an hour and twenty minutes. I am not over discharging as I am stopping as soon as the heli slows down a bit. Anyone else using the stock charger please let me know what you are getting for charge times.

Tail drift? Out of the box the rudder trim had to be set all the way to the left to hold the tail. I adjusted the pot to center the trim perfectly. Then after replacing the body and flying a few minutes it slowly drifts Rt so I have to trim more left. After a couple of packs, the trim had to be all the way left again, so I re-adjusted it with the trim halfway to the right. I flew one pack and it ended up slightly left of center. Is this the tail drift problem that the CX had/has? It seems to hold ok with the front body off, but drifts when it is put back on which makes me suspect it is heat related.

Any help or info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Don
Donaldo Gordini is offline Find More Posts by Donaldo Gordini
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 02, 2006, 03:50 PM
Joined Jun 2006
284 Posts
The new charger included with the CX2 works for the Blade CX/2 and CP Pro. The old CX charger was rated at .5 amps. I'm guessing that the new charger might charge the 2 cell battery and a lower rate than the 3 cell CP battery? The rating is also probably more of a maximum charge rate. If you have a li-po charger with an adjustable rate you can charge them at a higher rate and also to a full charge. The E-flight chargers have always been on the conservative side. Having an extra battery or two is worth it.