HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 29, 2006, 10:23 PM
San Diego, CA
Joined Nov 2006
43 Posts
Build Log
Building a Predator Bee by a First Time Builder: Please Advice!

Hi everyone,

My friends took me out to the slopes of Poway earlier this month to show me their how their planes fly and after seeing their planes in action, I was hooked! After doing a bunch of reading on this forum and asking around with the people that flies the local slopes around here, I've decided to build a "Predator" Bee from Karl. I placed an order with him last Monday and it arrived last Friday, even though Thursday was Thanksgiving! He has been very quick in responding my e-mail queries and suggested that I post my questions here where everyone else can also chime in. Since I'm a first-time builder, please let me know if you see me do anything wrong. I hope to learn a lot, since this is my first build, and am documenting it so hopefully other beginners in the hobby won't make some of the mistakes that I am about to make. I need all the help I can get!

Here are the list of supplies that I've thought of so far:

Items already gathered:
Predator Bee kit (Predator Wings)
Hobbico Air Alert Low Voltage & Lost Aircraft Alarm (LHS)
Quik-Cure Epoxy #5 (LHS)
Zap CA (LHS)
3M 400 grit sand paper (LHS)
5/32 brass rod (LHS)
HydriMax Ultra NiMH 6.0V 1450mAh battery pack (Tower Hobbies)
Hitec 72MHz dual conversion receiver crystal channel 37 (Tower Hobbies)
Hitec micro switch harness (Tower Hobbies)
Hitec trainer cord (Tower Hobbies)
Scotch Extreme bi-directional tape (Staples)
Scotch Mailing & Storage tape, clear tape (Staples)
Staples masking tape (Staples)
X-acto knife

Items en route:
Hitec Optic 6 with Spectra module (Power Hobby)
Hitec Electron 6 receiver (Power Hobby)
Two Hitec HS-85MG servos (Power Hobby)

Items yet to buy:
Ultracote
Sealing iron
Goop
Goop thinner
Foam brush
Spare foam
thin poker rod