Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Nov 14, 2006, 08:31 AM
Retired Engineer
St. Augustine, Florida
Joined Sep 2006
968 Posts
Discussion
Hobby Lobby ST Models Cessna 182 Aeleron ARF. (Mini Review)

Hi All:

My first plane after 20 years out of the hobby. Perhaps not the best first plane, but certainly a good price point to take the plunge. I also got their Jetti ESC/BEC, figured it could die with the model.

It is the Hobby Lobby =====>

ST Model "Cessna 182" ARF RC Model Airplane

My logic is as follows, (Whether good or bad).

1) It was cheap and I would not loose (too much) sleep if it dies a horrible mashed up death.

2) I am an Engineer so I am sure I can figure out the misgivings, ChingLish etc.

3) It was pretty much an all inclusive kit bar radio, so I do not have to damage the servos that came with my new good radio.

4) It did not look too bad in the photos. It was a toss up between this and the SkyMaster. I read a lot of bad things about the Skymaster and fewer bad things about the ST 182.

5) I can pretty much take off, fly and land almost all Aircraft, Beginner and Expert on AeroFLY Pro Deluxe after a lot of practice.

6) The Battery does not last a long time so less time to crash it!

Seriously. I thought it would be a good little starter for a clam day, along with the challenges of setup and stuff. I could not find a lot written about it. It was not for want of asking. I did read that the CG was not clear in the all but excuse for a manual. So if anyone has one and can help please let me know. If it lasts I will replace the battery and re-inforce the motor mount or put a brushless in it. If it does not last.. Oh Well!

Any comments would be appreciated. If anyone has a way of selecting a brushless motor/esc combination for this could you please let me know.

Thanks as always for all your support,

SWR
ShokWaveRider is offline Find More Posts by ShokWaveRider
Last edited by ShokWaveRider; Nov 16, 2006 at 08:45 PM.
to remove ads between posts