Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Nov 10, 2006, 06:38 PM
LI, New York, USA
Joined Mar 2003
24,026 Posts
Discussion
the simple flying pleasure of a 2M R/E glider

I have been flying pure gliders for 3 years. I started on a Great Planes Spirit then went to a Sagitta 600 then an Airtronics Legend and now a Polecat Thermal Dancer. Add to that my slope and hand launch and ... well I like gliders.

For the last two years I have spent most of my air time with the 3M full house planes, but this past Sunday I took out my 2M Spirit. I had the Thermal Dancer with me but the Spirit was first to the launch. The day was mild and the breeze was light. Perfect weather for my long neglected Spirit.

To make a long story short, I was at the field for 6 hours and I never took out the full house, 3M composite glider. The Spirit just flew wonderfully. It was finding lift on almost every launch. I spent so much time in the air that I checked the receiver battery. The Spirit sips power but I must have been in the air several hours.

Several times, as I was coming in for a landing, I had announced my intention to land, but the Spirit was not ready to land. It gave me a wink and a nod and showed me a thermal at tree height. I turned into the lift and up it went again. "Not Landing!" ( Oh, Ed is "not landing" again! Show off! )

I wasn't timing the flights but I am sure 10-15 minutes were pretty common. It took some work as the lift was there, then it was gone then it was back.

Easy flying, relaxing and beautiful to the eye. Never a bad behavior and I could actually look away and when I looked back it was dutifully circling in the lift. A real partner! A friend, too long missed and now found again.