HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 02, 2006, 08:57 AM
"In Thrust We Trust"
USA, CO, Arvada
Joined Aug 2006
141 Posts
Discussion
Better Training Methods- "One Week to Solo" manual

Howdy, I'm an Intro Pilot Instructor with our local club (Arvada Associated Modelers) and coming from an Electric background I've been really disappointed over the last year about how LONG it takes to get folks solo'd on nitro planes. We train every Thursday night during daylight savings time and some of these guys only get 10 minutes a week actual buddy box time. Months to solo, where with electrics (in an admittedly more casual environment) we had newbees flying after a few Sundays instruction.

I've read about 1st U.S. Flight School and I know it's total immersion training,
i.e. a full work week of takeoffs and landings. Now I see they've got
a "One Week to Solo" manual out and I'm wondering if any one has read it and can comment on it.
http://www.rcflightschool.com/Manuals_Page.asp

We're a goal oriented club (AAM) and next year I'd like speed up the learning process during training night. Say like 10-20 weeks to Solo
I can arrange laptops and flight sims, which will help keep trainees "flying",
and maybe extra instructors although we're limited to 4+/- club trainers,
but any other input on making training "stick" would be appreciated.

cheers,

Frank D
Lt Crunch is offline Find More Posts by Lt Crunch
Last edited by Lt Crunch; Nov 18, 2006 at 07:50 AM. Reason: Removed reference to "force feedback" buddy boxes...no such thing exists darn it!
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 02, 2006, 10:46 AM
God is good
Banjul
Joined Jan 2001
4,246 Posts