HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 31, 2006, 02:16 AM
Joined Oct 2006
55 Posts
Discussion
HZ Super Cub vs. PZ Slo-V

Hey,
I'm fairly new to the whole RC thing. I'm really looking to get a good, solid, easy to fly 3 channel electric airplane. The two that have stuck out to me are the Hobby Zone Super Cub RTF ($160) and the Park Zone Slo-V ($140). The Slo-V really appeals to me because I have NO radio gear whatsoever, and I want something that flys somewhat slow. Also the Super Cub appeals because it is a complete RTF as well, and I've heard it performs decent in small winds. I know the Slo-V will suffer in the wind.
Either way I have three real options...
1. Slo-V: A great, stable, slow-flying, trainer.
2. Super Cub: A great, stable trainer, which flies better in wind.
OR
3. Buy a JR Sport S400 radio w/ mini servos, batteries, and reciever included at my Local Hobby Shop for $120 and build something, such as a Slow-Stick or Pico-Stick.

Also, It will be winter here soon in Utah, so the slow-flying, gym capable flyers appeal to me.

Which airplane would be best fit for a complete beginner? I want to fly outside, but winter might limit me and my airplane. I also want to fly inside like in a gym because of the winter, but if the super cub is a better plane by far, then forget indoor flying, i'll just suck it up and go in the snow! So please help me.

Buy Slo-V, Super Cub, or JR S400 radio set up and buy different plane??
biphfyt is offline Find More Posts by biphfyt
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 31, 2006, 08:22 AM
Rat
Come get me if you can
Rats nest Grafton ND
Joined Aug 2004
2,249 Posts
I am all for getting the radio set instead. I am well versed in the ParkZone/Hobbyzone radiosystem/electronics package. Lets just say the electronics package is far from a reliable system.