HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 14, 2007, 02:37 PM
Chillin till SEFF
bildo baggins's Avatar
Warner Robins, GA
Joined Aug 2003
14,731 Posts
Don't get me wrong, I believe in the AMA and am a member of a club. There are too many activities I would not be able to participate in if I were not a member. The AMA is turning around big time and has fully recognized electrics as far as I can tell. There are the hard core individuals that make life just a little more stressful but I have that everywhere I go. My brother called me from the Magical Kingdom (Disney) the happiest place on earth this weekend. Said he was about to throttle some folks down there for their lack of courtesy on the road.
bildo baggins is offline Find More Posts by bildo baggins
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 19, 2007, 11:11 PM
Registered User
RickC2009's Avatar
USA, NY, Brookhaven
Joined Mar 2003
1,523 Posts
Where do you like the C/G on this plane?
I have mine set at recommend 3.75 inches but would like to know where others have there C/G set to.
Thanks
Rickc
RickC2009 is offline Find More Posts by RickC2009
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2007, 12:22 AM
Foamsmithing forever!!
crash test dummy's Avatar
Sugar Grove, Il.
Joined Aug 2004
2,992 Posts
I did something really stupid the other day. I tripped in my hanger and fell on my MFX!!! CRAP!! I see the wing sets are 67 bucks on horizon web site. However, do any of you know if I can buy just 1 wing? If I'm going to spend 67 bucks on just wings, I may as well just buy another whole plane and have spare parts.

CTD
crash test dummy is offline Find More Posts by crash test dummy
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2007, 07:13 PM
Registered User
reyn3545's Avatar
Alpharetta, GA
Joined Jun 2006
454 Posts
I had 4 or 5 more flights today, no real problems, except that the 16x10 won't let me slow the plane down to land... I have to set the throttle adjustment down about 5 clicks, to the point where I'm afraid its gonna die, but so far it hasn't. Plenty of power to do absolutely anything, and a real blast to harrier around the field.
reyn3545 is offline Find More Posts by reyn3545
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2007, 08:00 PM
Balsa to the Wall
Deep in the East Texas Piney Woods
Joined Dec 2001
4,603 Posts
Well, I finally got to fly mine. I can say, everything positive I've seen and heard about this baby is 100% spot on. I think I'm gonna love it.


Chuck
Chuck is offline Find More Posts by Chuck
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2007, 09:28 PM
1.21 Gigawatts!
United States, NY, New York
Joined Sep 2006
560 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by reyn3545
I had 4 or 5 more flights today, no real problems, except that the 16x10 won't let me slow the plane down to land... I have to set the throttle adjustment down about 5 clicks, to the point where I'm afraid its gonna die, but so far it hasn't. Plenty of power to do absolutely anything, and a real blast to harrier around the field.

reyn, are you really running a 16x10 on this plane??? wow, i run a 12x7 doesn't the 16x10 hit the ground? what motor, what is your current draw? more power to if you are, i just didn't know it was possible :-).

dave
dnorm is offline Find More Posts by dnorm
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2007, 10:47 PM
Foamsmithing forever!!
crash test dummy's Avatar
Sugar Grove, Il.
Joined Aug 2004
2,992 Posts
reyn 3545

16 X 10!!! Really!

CTD
crash test dummy is offline Find More Posts by crash test dummy
Reply With Quote
Old May 20, 2007, 11:57 PM
AMA 667982 KG7NKY
starcad's Avatar
Tucson, AZ, USA
Joined Sep 2000
2,023 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnorm
reyn, are you really running a 16x10 on this plane??? wow, i run a 12x7 doesn't the 16x10 hit the ground? what motor, what is your current draw? more power to if you are, i just didn't know it was possible :-).

dave
I was wondering the same thing. I'm running a 12X6E, tried a 12X7 but everything was running hot so I went back to the 12X6E and love the way it flies. Three more today bumping my total up to 75 now. Went to try my new 2200 but forgot to put Velcro on it and so I save it for next weekend. Bad luck whit the camera today as my wife used it last week and forgot to turn it off. dead batteries so will try again next weekend. This plane really ROCKS!
starcad is offline Find More Posts by starcad
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2007, 01:41 PM
Registered User
England
Joined Nov 2005
1,116 Posts
Which are the APC props of choice for the Park 480 1020Kv (with a 2200 3S 12C/16C pack and 33A constant (40A burst) ESC) for sports flying and for 3D ?

Would one of the AXIs from here be a better option, considering the other power system components ? Price would need to be comparable with the Park 480 1020Kv. Prop advice would be welcome if there are obvious AXI options.

I maidened the plane this evening with a Towerpro 2908-10 motor (which lasted all of one minute). It cut out in the air and there was smoke coming out of the cowl once I'd landed.

It was a close thing getting it down as I'd not even got it trimmed out, it seemed quite tail heavy with a 95mm CG and it didn't want glide at all. It was also a lot more twitchy than I'd expected. Is the CG right ? Anyone care to comment about this ?

What are you using for aileron and elevator expo for low and high rates ?

Did anyone notice the mistake in the manual where it converts the rudder throws in mm ? Neither of those imperial values match the metric ones. I trust that the imperial sizes are correct ?

Thanks
netdudeuk is offline Find More Posts by netdudeuk
Last edited by netdudeuk; May 21, 2007 at 05:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2007, 04:01 PM
Registered User
reyn3545's Avatar
Alpharetta, GA
Joined Jun 2006
454 Posts
Woahhh.. Oops! I should have posted that message on the Funtana X100 thread on rcuniverse. If I could put a YS 140 and a 16x10 on this plane... I don't think it would last too long! But it is a great flying plane.
reyn3545 is offline Find More Posts by reyn3545
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2007, 03:06 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2006
2 Posts
Hello everybody!
Did anybody had power failure problems with new E-Flite ESC 40-Amp with Dual BEC? This is version 2 of the ESC, but manual says that if using economy class sub-micro servos, the suggestion is to power only 3 servos What are economy class servos? I'm using Hitec HS-55 for ailerons and HS-65HB for the tail.

Do I still need redundant Park BEC to power the receiver and servos?

tnx for any info
mitang is offline Find More Posts by mitang
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2007, 03:24 PM
Registered User
r/cdawg's Avatar
Grandville, MI
Joined Dec 2003
2,244 Posts
mitang,

I have been running the same set up (2 HS-55's and 2 HS-65's with the Eflite 40a esc) in a Seagull Extra for 150+ flights with no problems to date. Make sure to place it where it will get lots of cooling air as this will be critical as temps rise this summer.

dawg
r/cdawg is offline Find More Posts by r/cdawg
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2007, 04:02 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2006
2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by r/cdawg
mitang,

I have been running the same set up (2 HS-55's and 2 HS-65's with the Eflite 40a esc) in a Seagull Extra for 150+ flights with no problems to date. Make sure to place it where it will get lots of cooling air as this will be critical as temps rise this summer.

dawg
Hi dawg,
What battery do you use? LiPo 3s?

mitang
mitang is offline Find More Posts by mitang
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2007, 04:56 PM
Registered User
r/cdawg's Avatar
Grandville, MI
Joined Dec 2003
2,244 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitang
Hi dawg,
What battery do you use? LiPo 3s?

mitang
3S Thunder Power 2100 Prolites.
r/cdawg is offline Find More Posts by r/cdawg
Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2007, 11:42 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2005
549 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitang
Hello everybody!
Did anybody had power failure problems with new E-Flite ESC 40-Amp with Dual BEC? This is version 2 of the ESC, but manual says that if using economy class sub-micro servos, the suggestion is to power only 3 servos What are economy class servos? I'm using Hitec HS-55 for ailerons and HS-65HB for the tail.

Do I still need redundant Park BEC to power the receiver and servos?

tnx for any info
I run this ESC with 4 hs-65's, with a TP 2100 prolite. No problems so far. I mounted my ESC were there is lots of cooling.

Malcolm
malcolmm is offline Find More Posts by malcolmm
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New MINI E3D from Gary Wright - Build and Fly Harley Sport Planes 797 Sep 06, 2014 03:09 PM
Poll New Warbird offering from E-Flite Tommy D Electric Warbirds 35 Jun 05, 2006 11:46 AM
New Cessna 182 370 ARF from E-flite hlondono111 Electric Plane Talk 0 Oct 03, 2005 04:47 PM
Yippee! New Ultimate from E Flite!!! marshallcowboy Electric Plane Talk 0 Jul 18, 2005 11:14 PM